Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This recipe is way, way, too sweet. Cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T and this is phenomenal ice cream! Wow! It is so unique in flavor and would be amazing paired with applie pie or crisp. GREAT RECIPE! Actually now that I think about it I accidently scraped the bean in step 1...that was my own fault, but didn't hurt the ice cream any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I MADE THIS WITH LAVENDER HONEY AND I MUST SAY....ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! MY IN LAWS WENT NUTS OVER THIS! THE CRUNCHY PECAN COCONUT GRANOLA I USED WAS A CRUNCH THAT OFFSET IT PERFECTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERRYGIRL400
Home Town: Greenup, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Delicious! Perfect on its own, but I added toasted coconut and broken pecan granola bars...excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is a creamy, smooth, rich and not too sweet custard-style vanilla ice cream with a delicate, but perfect hint of honey and brown sugar (I have to disagree with those who compared this to Butter Pecan ice cream--this is an entirely different flavor, the only similarity being the brown sugar used in both.) This is an unusual and creative twist on vanilla ice cream that really works. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GOMELA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is really really good! Definately has more of a carmel taste with the honey and brown sugar. Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exact, except used 5 egg yolks since thats all I had and I also subbed 1 cup of half and half for some of the whipping cream. Definatly will be making this one again. Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have tried many ice cream recipes with no luck, but this one is AWESOME!!!! I made it for a dinner party this past weekend and it got RAVE reviews!! They were all lovin' the flavor the honey added and it was so thick and creamy. To top it all off, this recipe is just the righ amount to fit into my Cuisinart ice cream maker so it was perfect! I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coleridge, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Wow! This really was good. I think it would be really good with sunflower seeds mixed in it. I used walnuts and it was fabulous! I made my boyfriend Rocky road as he is not a big vanilla fan and he wanted to eat all mine..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I served this at a dinner party with a delicious apple crisp and everyone raved! I also didn't have a candy thermometer and my suggestion is to stir continuously and watch carefully. I had to make the base twice, because the first time I stepped away and it boiled over and burned. But I salvaged my vanilla bean and the second batch turned out to be creamy and delicious. Another suggestion, the colder EVERYTHING(base, containers, ice,etc.)is when making the ice cream the creamier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Great recipe! Very sweet. I was just curious - what do you save the vanilla stick for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States