Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I would rate this ten starts if I could. The flavor and consistency were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I didn't even see this ice cream--bf made it then ate it all before I could say a word. He said he didn't like it that much--didn't like the brown sugar or the taste of the yolks. He did, however, really like the vanilla flavor. I'm a bit bemused that he says he didn't like it much yet ate it all in two days, but what do I know . . . .anyway, sounds like it could be tweaked to his tastes by eliminating the brown sugar and decreasing the yolks, but next time I'll have to be faster to even try a bite. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this ice cream a couple of weeks ago and it has a very nice flavor AND texture! It's not super hard when you take it out of the freezer like some other recipes I've tried from this site. I used half and half instead of milk because I had some on hand from all the holiday cooking. It was a kinda sweet, but I like sweet. I usually top my vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup, but that may have put me into a sugar coma, so I opted for sliced banana and it was great. Nice recipe and even though I don't like "making" ice creams where you have to temper the eggs, I will definitely make this again. I also added about 2 tsp vanilla extract in addition to the vanilla bean after tasting the batter it didn't seem to be enough flavor - plus I like the extra vanilla flavoring. UPDATE: I said I made this a couple of weeks ago, I still have some left and it's still fabulous! Someone recently asked how long homemade ice cream would keep, this one has kept very well for a little over 3 weeks and counting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
YUMMY! This is REALLY an ice-cream recipe. Nice and creamy, didn't get rock hard in the freezer. Used lactose free whole milk. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
amazing! need to cut back on the sugar a little tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It had a delicious butterscotchy taste but was very very very sweet. It had a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
The flavor is great! Mine didn't really freeze well either as Melissa noted. It did solidify in the freezer and was not icy and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The ice cream came out tasting heavily of honey, but it was delicious! However, the recipe would never freeze properly in the ice cream maker, so once I put it in my freezer, it turned rock hard and icy. I don't recommend putting all of the hot milk into the egg mixture. I tried this twice and ended up with a foamy mess. Next time, I will only put in half of the milk, as most other recipes call for. I will definitely try this out again, as my friends all loved it, but I hope it freezes better in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This ice cream is fabulous. Rich, creamy and delicious. But I think, this is more honey and brown sugar than vanilla taste ice cream (maybe because I used 1/2 vanilla bean). But overall this ice cream is very delicious, one of the most delicious I have eaten. You won`t be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The only reason I gave this four and not five stars was because I found that even after reducing the sugar to 3/4 of a cup, it was still too sweet - 1/2 cup should be plenty for next time. I used 3 cups of 1% milk and one cup of half and half (10% mf) and it was still lovely and rich. I used high-quality local honey - fallflowers from Arila Apiary in New Westminster, BC. It was a fantastic way to showcase the flavour of the honey, but it you are wanting a clean vanilla taste I would either leave it out or use the most mild honey you can find. Overall this is a fantastic base recipe that is easily tweaked for personal tastes. I am going to enjoy a cone right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States