Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
The texture was very nice. It was easy to make. The only issue I have is that the brown sugar brought too much sweetness to the plate. Not sure if I'd add less or if I'd just switch to white sugar (or do all honey?). BTW, I quadrupled the vanilla beans. You can never have too much vanilla. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delish and very rich! Would make a great base for adding candied pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
We loved this recipe! Will make again... and worth getting a vanilla bean for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious recipe! I did decrease the sugar a bit out of personal preference. Next time I will also use the re-sizer since my ice cream maker only does a quart at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I was hestitant to make this but it turned out amazing. Perfect blend of sweet and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought I already had the best recipe for vanilla ice cream, but I was wrong. This recipe is the very best, ever. I liked the deeper flavor notes of honey and brown sugar. It was a perfect complement to an excellent pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Oh, my freakin' WORD!!! This will have to be kept under lock and key to keep me from making myself sick gobbling it all up before the holiday. I made it today to have for serving on top of Thanksgiving pies, and it's so unbelievably delicious that it's a major temptation. The marriage of honey and vanilla is sheer genius! The honey is just barely discernible, but it complements the vanilla flavor to perfection. I didn't have any whole milk, so I substituted fat-free half and half. No matter. The texture is wonderful, the flavor sublime. It melts in a silken ribbon on the tongue, leaving a delightful taste on the palate that makes you crave another spoonful. I cut back on the brown sugar by 25% after reading several reviews that noted excessive sweetness. After tasting the solution, it was just a bit short of sweetness, so I simply added about 2 Tb Splenda to make it just right. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Vanilla beans are the way to go even if there are pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This ice cream was the BOMB! The flavor was awesome i had to make myself stop eating. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was delicious. Best consistency of homemade ice cream I have ever made. Flavor was also excellent. Will double the batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck VanDerhoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States