Honey-Spiced Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Maybe my review is a poor representation of the recipe because I didn't follow the canning process. I was looking to make a cooked spiced peach recipe for a topping to put on Greek yogurt, so I found this and worked with it. I cooked the water, sugar and honey in a saucepan and added frozen peaches (found a bag on sale) and all the spices in ground form until heated through. I let it all cool and spooned some over my yogurt and MMMMMMMM! The combination was just what I was looking for. I am thinking of venturing into the world of canning, and when I do, I will turn to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I haven't gotten to try these yet, but so far it looks good. took a lot less than 8 pounds, but I'm using 6 pints instead of 3 quarts. Also used ground allspice, and ground cloves. just put a dash in each jar, and 1/2 a stick of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenieCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Used 10 lbs of peaches from our neighbor's tree. It made 8 pints, and still have enough liquid for another pint. They look gorgeous. One pint didn't seal so, I'm putting it in the fridge for a few days before tasting, as I want the flavors to run through. Too bad the spices weren't cooked in the liquid, as I love the smell of canning spices. I am excited to taste these. However, I packed the peaches tightly and they are still floating in the jar. Curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
They taste delious!!! I would like to ask a question? How do I keep the peaches from floating up to the top and not so soft and mushy. I have packed them very tightly, and the still go up to the top. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Going to try this but have a question. How does one treat the fruit to prevent browning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Just made this recipe without variation. Used all the peaches but probably had enough syrup to make a second batch. Used very fresh,ripe local peaches so there was plenty of natural juice. Will probably save these for the winter holidays--the spices are a natural for that time of year. The left over syrup would make a nice hot spiced drink. . I'm sure these spiced peaches are going to be great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by denececorrell
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I had enough syrup leftover to fill double the quart jars with this recipe. I only had 6 lbs of smaller sizes peaches and they filled three jars exactly. Next time I will adjust the pounds of peaches to make a full canner. The peaches didn't float in the jars near as badly as with raw packing, but it was a little more work. The cinnamon sticks and whole spices look rustic and I think these will make nice gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

How to Make BBQ Peaches

See how to make peaches grilled on the ’que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States