Honey Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very disappointed....bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jnspire
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this with an alternate glaze: 4 Ounces cream cheese 1/3 cup powdered sugar 1 tsp. Vanilla (to taste) and 2 to 3 Tbsp. Milk Whip the cream cheese then mix in the powdered sugar until smooth. Add Vanilla (to taste) and add milk to reach desired consistency. The bread was tasty. I didn't have nutmeg so I simply doubled the cinnamon. WOuld like to try it with nutmeg. The bread itself was not as sweet as I had expected. Would be good with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I just finished eating two slices of this bread, and I'm somewhat disappointed. First, unlike that awesome picture the recipe gives us of the bread, my bread didn't rise like that one! Maybe I should have doubled it? And as other reviewers said, 55MINS is TOO MUCH. It would burn the bread. I baked it for 45MINS and it burned the bottom a bit. Can you imagine how burned it would have been if I had left it for 55-60MINS? YIKES! Despite the negative, I liked the taste of the bread. The glaze is good on top of it. The bread wasn't dry, but wasn't moist either. It was more in the middle, if that makes any sense haha. I think this bread has potential, so that's why I give it 3 stars. Overall, it was an OK bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Really, truly fantastic. Very fall-ish. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
There is no way that this bread could take 55-60min to bake! Mine was done in about 45min, it was ok tasting,nothing really spectacular...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars - Mine was done - slightly overdone, actually, at 45 minutes! I do tend to eyeball some spices, so I'm going to say I probably doubled them here. I also used half whole wheat flour, half regular, and a really good quality dark amber honey - the stuff I normally wouldn't buy, but someone gave it to me. It has a very subtle spicey/honey flavor, and I think it's a delicious bread! Perfect for a "tea party". I particularly like the idea of dissolving the sugar in warm (skim) milk - might try that technique in some of my other recipes in place of creaming butter/shortening & sugar. Great way to cut to cut down on fat! ***Update 2/18/08: Even better the next day! A tad dry, but I think I should have stored it in the refigerator. Honey flavor really comes out the next day! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Too dry and not very flavorful, even though I used rounded half teaspoons of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
A little cumbersome to make. The top and inside of the bread are sweet but tasty. The sides and bottom have a funny burnt sugar taste no matter how lightly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Yum, this bread is GOOD! So moist, so flavorful. It's not overly sweet, so it works for breakfast. This is a great recipe and I plan to use it often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themerrymaid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States