Honey Sourdough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I made this recipe in my regular oven since I don't have a bread machine. I mixed the starter, water, oil, honey and yeast in the bowl of my mixer and let it sit for about ten minutes to give the yeast a chance to activate. Then I added in the flours and the salt and mixed for a few minutes then kneaded it by hand for a few minutes. I let it rest for about an hour, punched it down and put it in a bread pan and let it rise for another 45 minutes. After that I baked it at 375 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. The bread had a wonderful subtle honey taste... would be good with some honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ching65211
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this recipe on my bread machine and in the oven, the result was awesome. I did modify a couple of ingredients and it still turned out wonderful. I modified the water to 3/4 cup, 3 tbsp. honey, 1 tsp. salt, 1 cup wheat flour, 2 tsp. rapid rise yeast and 3 spoonfuls of quick oats. The result is a great tasting, chewy, kinda sweet loaf of bread. It's great for french toast, grilled cheese, sandwiches, or just plain buttered. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ching65211

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I've been making bread for a while, but I am new to making sourdough. This was my third try and it is one of the best recipes EVER, not just among my sourdough tries. It slices perfectly. Not too crunchy, not too soft. Great recipe!! I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
It took a while to rise because I used all purpose flour, but the end result is delicious! This is very easy to slice thinly without crumbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this manually and used a sourdough starter I had on hand. Bread is slightly chewy & has a good flavor but needs a tad more salt. I like the addition of honey to the sourdough but might use 1 T instead of 2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I make my bread mostly wheat, so I added 2 cups whole wheat with 1 cup bread flour. It started looking too dry so I added more olive oil & warm water. Finished on the counter & in oven. It's delish. Made some of the best toasted sandwich bread we've had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This bread is so good. I selected the dough cycle on my bread machine, then took it out, divided it into three equal balls to make smaller loaves for my family. Then I let it rise again for about an hour, and baked in the oven for 15 minutes. It turned out well, but I think next time I will try it without the additional yeast, because it ended up rising a lot. thanks for another great recipe to use with my starter:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Fantastic bread with lots of flavour. The honey came out beautifully with the sourdough. Next time I am going to try it with molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
nothing extrodinary. but good! only change was that I did NOT finish in bread maker- I don't much care for the crust. I have saved this and will use it as a white bread option as it is not as sourdoughy as I had imagined... still looking for a strong sour loaf... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This by far is the best sourdough recipe I have tried. The only thing I did different was I used regular unbleached whole wheat flour and all purpose flour instead of bread flour. I also added about 2 Tablespoons of Flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Boop!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States