Honey Sourdough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I made this recipe in my regular oven since I don't have a bread machine. I mixed the starter, water, oil, honey and yeast in the bowl of my mixer and let it sit for about ten minutes to give the yeast a chance to activate. Then I added in the flours and the salt and mixed for a few minutes then kneaded it by hand for a few minutes. I let it rest for about an hour, punched it down and put it in a bread pan and let it rise for another 45 minutes. After that I baked it at 375 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. The bread had a wonderful subtle honey taste... would be good with some honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I've made this several times, not a very sour sourdough, but has excellent soft texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this manually and used a sourdough starter I had on hand. Bread is slightly chewy & has a good flavor but needs a tad more salt. I like the addition of honey to the sourdough but might use 1 T instead of 2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ching65211
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this recipe on my bread machine and in the oven, the result was awesome. I did modify a couple of ingredients and it still turned out wonderful. I modified the water to 3/4 cup, 3 tbsp. honey, 1 tsp. salt, 1 cup wheat flour, 2 tsp. rapid rise yeast and 3 spoonfuls of quick oats. The result is a great tasting, chewy, kinda sweet loaf of bread. It's great for french toast, grilled cheese, sandwiches, or just plain buttered. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ching65211

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This bread is so good. I selected the dough cycle on my bread machine, then took it out, divided it into three equal balls to make smaller loaves for my family. Then I let it rise again for about an hour, and baked in the oven for 15 minutes. It turned out well, but I think next time I will try it without the additional yeast, because it ended up rising a lot. thanks for another great recipe to use with my starter:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
It took a while to rise because I used all purpose flour, but the end result is delicious! This is very easy to slice thinly without crumbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I make my bread mostly wheat, so I added 2 cups whole wheat with 1 cup bread flour. It started looking too dry so I added more olive oil & warm water. Finished on the counter & in oven. It's delish. Made some of the best toasted sandwich bread we've had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I cooked mine in the oven because I didn't have a bread mashine and followed some one elses suggestion. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
nothing extrodinary. but good! only change was that I did NOT finish in bread maker- I don't much care for the crust. I have saved this and will use it as a white bread option as it is not as sourdoughy as I had imagined... still looking for a strong sour loaf... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Fantastic bread with lots of flavour. The honey came out beautifully with the sourdough. Next time I am going to try it with molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States