Honey Smoked Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
THIS RECIPE IS ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. I USED A TURKEY BREAST INSTEAD OF A WHOLE TURKEY TO TRY IT. NEXT TIME I HAVE DECIDED TO DO THE SPICE RUB THE NIGHT BEFORE AND LET IT MARINATE IN THE REFRIGERATOR. I USED A REGULAR SMOKER WITH THE HARDWOOD CHARCOAL. IT WAS VERY MOIST. THE CHILDREN EVEN ATE SECONDS. I AM PLANNING TO HAVE IT AT THE CAMP GROUND THIS SUMMER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My 1st smoked turkey, wonderful! For a 12 lb bird (breast side down)I used a Brinkman Smoke-n-Grill charcoal 2 layer smoker (w/seperate water pan) and soaked hickory chips. No tin foil tenting required! I used 2t dry (vice 2T fresh) spices and did not soak in brine. I let rub sit overnight and got under the skin too! I filled the cavity with celery, carrots, apple and orange qrtrs, discarded when done. I allowed 30-40 mins per lb for cooking, flipping the bird (lol) after 3-4 hours breast side up, adding charcoal as needed. No burning, moist! For bigger birds I recommend using an o/nite brine soak and an indirect heat (barrell type smoker w/seperate fire box) charcoal smoker (~$88 on sale) with a coffee can of water, applejuice, wine, beer whatever! Being my 1st smoked bird, I have nothing to compare it to, soo the **** rating... Try this now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I loved this recipe. But I do suggest that you use apple wood. I have made this throughout the holidays. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This made for an incredible Thanksgiving turkey! I used less salt because I used a brine to soak the turkey in for days before cooking. Its a new Thanksgiving tradition for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I just tried this recipe for Christmas and everyone just loved it!! It was moist, slightly sweet and delicious! My wife and I decided on this one because it would free up the oven for the pies, cakes and dressing. I will use my grill from now on when ever we cook turkey. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Perfect. Everyone loved it. We did use a charcol grill and it took a lot more time, but maybe that was because I didn't pay attention to the directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I tried this for 4th of July and it came out great. It fed 8 people, and there weren't a lot of leftovers. This is a good recipe if you don't want to heat up your kitchen in the summer. It was pretty easy and quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was soooo good! We usually make turkey and the left overs get turned into other recipes but this was so good we left it alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-n-Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Absolutely Wonderful!!!! We tried this instead of deep frying a turkey. It is so moist and full of flavor. I definetly recommend everyone trying this at least once. You will be addicted! My family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This is an outstanding way to cook a turkey. Everyone raved about it. I did a trial run with a turkey breast. It got kind of burned on the bottom because I did not cook it indirectly (used a gas grill). But the whole bird on Thanksgiving turned out beautiful and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States