Honey Smoked Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by grail
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Amazing, This was our first turkey on our new smoker, we brined it the day before and followed the Recipe for the most part. next time i will turn the bird half way through, i didnt do that this time. still a really tender turkey. we also used apple wood for only the first hour then tented the bird with foil the next 9 hours at 200 degrees. low and slow baby.. B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is the best turkey recipe. I just bake my in the oven. It is so wonderful and turns out so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Using this recipe, I grilled a whole 12lb turkey and I let it sit in the fridge for 2 days very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is THE BEST turkey we have ever had...It was so tender and juicy! I saved some for our extended family and they told us we should start making the Thanksgiving turkey every year because it was the best turkey they ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This turned out delicious, but I think it had more to do with having brined it beforehand and the actual smoking than the basting glaze. Needing to use an aluminum pan made it take a little longer to cook than usual and we didn't feel like the glaze added much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I had never made a turkey in my life but decided to use this one for Thanksgiving last year...it was so tasty! I won't hesitate to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikep
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was the best smoked turkey i have ever had...I'm going to make one for my family this thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was soooo good! We usually make turkey and the left overs get turned into other recipes but this was so good we left it alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-n-Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I just tried this recipe for Christmas and everyone just loved it!! It was moist, slightly sweet and delicious! My wife and I decided on this one because it would free up the oven for the pies, cakes and dressing. I will use my grill from now on when ever we cook turkey. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My 1st smoked turkey, wonderful! For a 12 lb bird (breast side down)I used a Brinkman Smoke-n-Grill charcoal 2 layer smoker (w/seperate water pan) and soaked hickory chips. No tin foil tenting required! I used 2t dry (vice 2T fresh) spices and did not soak in brine. I let rub sit overnight and got under the skin too! I filled the cavity with celery, carrots, apple and orange qrtrs, discarded when done. I allowed 30-40 mins per lb for cooking, flipping the bird (lol) after 3-4 hours breast side up, adding charcoal as needed. No burning, moist! For bigger birds I recommend using an o/nite brine soak and an indirect heat (barrell type smoker w/seperate fire box) charcoal smoker (~$88 on sale) with a coffee can of water, applejuice, wine, beer whatever! Being my 1st smoked bird, I have nothing to compare it to, soo the **** rating... Try this now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States