Honey Roasted Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS THAT WORK: I've made this exact recipe for several years now, & have learned a few things. They take me 40-60 min in the oven. I just take a fork & occasionally poke it to see if the fork slides in easily. I use 6-8 med red potatoes, 4 large (baseball size), or about 11-12 if they're the really small (little bigger than golf ball) ones. After I quarter the potatoes, I cut those in half again to make them more bites-size esp. for my toddler who LOVES these. I find NO NEED for butter outside of PAM to grease my dish. Otherwise, it turns out GREASY! ...and I use 3T of honey and sprinkle some parsley for color. No onions if my husband is eating. Sometimes I line w/foil too because it can get sticky, otherwise a good soaking gets it all up quickly. UPDATE: It's perfect (nice glaze) w/o being too sweet, but you should mix it a few times while baking so what has become a liquid can be reapplied and the potatoes on the top aren't dry. Be sure to line these on a sheet instead of layering too because the top ones will be dry. I ALSO have to use more than a pinch of salt. Sprinkle enough so there's a little on all the potatoes or it's too bland. Broiling for the last 2-3 min. caramelizes the honey nicely. My husband & kids like ketchup on these which surprised me since they taste divine with nothing on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
946 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Very yummy! I also doubled the honey (probably tripled actually), I substituted the dry mustard with cayenne pepper and really loved the sweet/spicy flavor. I also substituted the butter for peanut oil and that crisped the potatoes up better. I would recommend lining your baking sheet with foil because otherwise the honey hardens and is VERY difficult to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Wonderful recipe! However, the first time I made it we all agreed we wish there was a little more "taste" (maybe I used to many potatoes? I am never good at judging a "pound" of potatoes). So the second time we made it I used 3 TBLS diced onion, 5 TBLS butter, 3TBLS honey and 3 tsp dry mustard...melts in your mouth good. And it really goes well with almost any maindish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I have made these many times and they have always been a huge hit. I do make the following adjustments however: 1. I boil the potoatoes first - just until a little more tender, but still firm (not for too long or will be mushy after roasting- just up to 5 minutes, no more). I have tried the recipe without boiling first, and then with boiling, and WITH BOILING FIRST THE POTATOES SOAK IN MUCH MUCH MORE OF THE BUTTER/HONEY FLAVOUR! 2. I always double the butter/honey mixture, and halfway through roasting I stir the potatoes and top off with extra of the butter mixture (1/2 of butter mix on poatoes at beginning, 1/2 of mix midway through roasting 3. I roast until I have enough "crispy" potatoes 4. Instead of using onion (my kids won't eat) I add onion powder to the butter/honey sauce. 5. I use more dry mustard powder than the recipe calls for (add to taste) Sometimes I boil the potatoes the night before, and then do the butter/honey mix and through potatoes in the oven just before company arrives. Try not to layer your poatoes - single, but "tight" (so the sauce doesn't just end up all the bottom) layer is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
These were absolutely delicious! Because of long experience with roasted potatoes, I allowed an hour to roast, and covered with foil for the first 40 minutes. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I tripled the recipe and took these potatoes to a church dinner. I sat next to a very good chef. He loved them, and asked for the recipe. I followed the recipe, but...mixed the potatoes and sauce in a large bowl. I then cooked them in a nonstick metal baking pan. It caused them to get very brown and carmelized. I stirred several times. and because there were more cooked them for a longet time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Not a potato leftover, they were just as good (if not better) sitting at room temp for a while as they were hot. I tried to put the leftovers away and they never made it to the fridge, I accidentally ate them all. I melted the butter in a large bowl, added the remaining sauce ingredients, mixed, added the onions then the potatoes, tossed to coat and put them on a foil lined baking sheet. I broiled them for about 5 minutes at the end to crisp them up a bit. Keep in mind 1 lb. potatoes is not much so you'll more than likely need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This recipe was a huge hit at our house. My husband who doesn't even like red potatoes asked me to make them again some time. The potatoes come out really sweet. They just needed a little salt and pepper at the table to adjust the taste. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I didn't have any trouble with them not being done and left them in fairly good size chunks. Next time I will take other reviewer's suggestion of placing under the broiler the last few minutes to make the skin crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are great! Not overly sweet and a nice change from regular roasted potatoes. Definitely put down non-stick foil for these! I added a little extra sauce during cooking and next time I may not even add the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
These turned out so good. The honey carmelized on the surface of the potatoes and the onions and everything was perfectly tender. I added a tablespoon of olive oil and an extra tablespoon of honey. I let them sit in the oven for an extra 10 minutes (turned down to 300) while I prepared everything else. I've never been able to roast potatoes correctly- they always burn and never become tender. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States