Honey Roasted Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS THAT WORK: I've made this exact recipe for several years now, & have learned a few things. They take me 40-60 min in the oven. I just take a fork & occasionally poke it to see if the fork slides in easily. I use 6-8 med red potatoes, 4 large (baseball size), or about 11-12 if they're the really small (little bigger than golf ball) ones. After I quarter the potatoes, I cut those in half again to make them more bites-size esp. for my toddler who LOVES these. I find NO NEED for butter outside of PAM to grease my dish. Otherwise, it turns out GREASY! ...and I use 3T of honey and sprinkle some parsley for color. No onions if my husband is eating. Sometimes I line w/foil too because it can get sticky, otherwise a good soaking gets it all up quickly. UPDATE: It's perfect (nice glaze) w/o being too sweet, but you should mix it a few times while baking so what has become a liquid can be reapplied and the potatoes on the top aren't dry. Be sure to line these on a sheet instead of layering too because the top ones will be dry. I ALSO have to use more than a pinch of salt. Sprinkle enough so there's a little on all the potatoes or it's too bland. Broiling for the last 2-3 min. caramelizes the honey nicely. My husband & kids like ketchup on these which surprised me since they taste divine with nothing on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
950 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Very yummy! I also doubled the honey (probably tripled actually), I substituted the dry mustard with cayenne pepper and really loved the sweet/spicy flavor. I also substituted the butter for peanut oil and that crisped the potatoes up better. I would recommend lining your baking sheet with foil because otherwise the honey hardens and is VERY difficult to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Wonderful recipe! However, the first time I made it we all agreed we wish there was a little more "taste" (maybe I used to many potatoes? I am never good at judging a "pound" of potatoes). So the second time we made it I used 3 TBLS diced onion, 5 TBLS butter, 3TBLS honey and 3 tsp dry mustard...melts in your mouth good. And it really goes well with almost any maindish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I have made these many times and they have always been a huge hit. I do make the following adjustments however: 1. I boil the potoatoes first - just until a little more tender, but still firm (not for too long or will be mushy after roasting- just up to 5 minutes, no more). I have tried the recipe without boiling first, and then with boiling, and WITH BOILING FIRST THE POTATOES SOAK IN MUCH MUCH MORE OF THE BUTTER/HONEY FLAVOUR! 2. I always double the butter/honey mixture, and halfway through roasting I stir the potatoes and top off with extra of the butter mixture (1/2 of butter mix on poatoes at beginning, 1/2 of mix midway through roasting 3. I roast until I have enough "crispy" potatoes 4. Instead of using onion (my kids won't eat) I add onion powder to the butter/honey sauce. 5. I use more dry mustard powder than the recipe calls for (add to taste) Sometimes I boil the potatoes the night before, and then do the butter/honey mix and through potatoes in the oven just before company arrives. Try not to layer your poatoes - single, but "tight" (so the sauce doesn't just end up all the bottom) layer is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
These were absolutely delicious! Because of long experience with roasted potatoes, I allowed an hour to roast, and covered with foil for the first 40 minutes. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I tripled the recipe and took these potatoes to a church dinner. I sat next to a very good chef. He loved them, and asked for the recipe. I followed the recipe, but...mixed the potatoes and sauce in a large bowl. I then cooked them in a nonstick metal baking pan. It caused them to get very brown and carmelized. I stirred several times. and because there were more cooked them for a longet time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Not a potato leftover, they were just as good (if not better) sitting at room temp for a while as they were hot. I tried to put the leftovers away and they never made it to the fridge, I accidentally ate them all. I melted the butter in a large bowl, added the remaining sauce ingredients, mixed, added the onions then the potatoes, tossed to coat and put them on a foil lined baking sheet. I broiled them for about 5 minutes at the end to crisp them up a bit. Keep in mind 1 lb. potatoes is not much so you'll more than likely need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This recipe was a huge hit at our house. My husband who doesn't even like red potatoes asked me to make them again some time. The potatoes come out really sweet. They just needed a little salt and pepper at the table to adjust the taste. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I didn't have any trouble with them not being done and left them in fairly good size chunks. Next time I will take other reviewer's suggestion of placing under the broiler the last few minutes to make the skin crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are great! Not overly sweet and a nice change from regular roasted potatoes. Definitely put down non-stick foil for these! I added a little extra sauce during cooking and next time I may not even add the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
These turned out so good. The honey carmelized on the surface of the potatoes and the onions and everything was perfectly tender. I added a tablespoon of olive oil and an extra tablespoon of honey. I let them sit in the oven for an extra 10 minutes (turned down to 300) while I prepared everything else. I've never been able to roast potatoes correctly- they always burn and never become tender. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States