Honey Peanut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Great granola! I normally make Almond Maple Granola from this website, but I was in the mood for something different. Thanks to JediCook's suggestion of adding cinnamon--it really does taste like an oatmeal cookie. My tweaks were to use old-fashioned oats, only 1/4 cup honey & brown sugar, 3 tbls oil, 1/4 tsp salt, and I subbed sliced almonds for the peanuts. I really love it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this both with and without the peanuts. The first batch I cooked for 45 minutes, stirring 3x and found that it was a bit over-done, so the next batches I just cooked for 30-35 minutes and they were perfectly golden. This mix is amazing and I love that the wheat germ is undetectable! I think I'll try adding some dried fruit like "craisins" in the next go-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Delicious! I took the advice of Granyloohoo (who always gives great advice in her reviews!) and used 1/4 cup each of the honey and brown sugar, 3 Tbsp of oil and 1/4 tsp salt. I also used ground flaxseed instead of wheat germ. This came out plenty sweet and has a very nice crunch to it. I added 1/2 a cup coconut while baking and dumped in some craisins when I took it out of the oven. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This is a very good granola. A few add ins I have done: Melted butter instead of vegetable oil (weird things happen to oil when it's heated so I prefer to use butter or ghee), addition of cinammon with raisins and molasses gave it an oatmeal cookie taste that was simply delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedi Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Oh WOW... I was visiting family in a different state and I paid 6 bucks for a bag of granola from a health food store and it had basicly the same exact ingredients as this recipe. My husband and I loved it so much I've been looking for something like it ever since.. I never even thought to make it myself till Allrecipes featured it on the main page this week. This was a SUPER EASY recipe to make and like other suggestions I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and used almond slivers instead of peanuts. My house smells Wonderful and it's not even fully cooled yet and me and the kids can't stop picking at it... it tastes AWSOME! I'm going to play w/ this and maybe next time add some real maple syurp and a some different nuts, you could have a blast trying something new every time you make this! THANKS!!! This is going to be a regular treat in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is my new cereal. I refuse to buy that sugar coated junk at the store. The only change I made was to take out the peanuts (everyone hated them!) and subsituted flax for wheat bran (all I had). I also sprinkle a TBSP of white sugar on top before I bake it. I've made this at least five times since I found the recipe! I do add-ins in the bowl as we all like different things. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Very Good. I did not add the peanuts, but I did add mini chocolate chips. On one batch I sprinkled in some leftover toffie bits I had. mmmmm. I tried one batch with marshmallows, that did not turn out. I dont suggest that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olivia13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This may taste very good but WOW!! the calories that are in this is rediculous, it more than I have for breaky and part of my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was good, I made two patches, one as written only I added a pkg of dried mixed fruit, the second-I omitted the salt and peanuts, added 1 tbsp maple syrup and 1/2 c pecans and a pkg of dried peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Warning! This stuff is addicting! We found ourselves eating this non-stop until it was all gone! This is great by itself, with yogurt or with milk. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States