Honey Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Parsnips were bitter...even with this DELICIOUS SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I am still in the middle of cooking this. Something must be off here. Too much water? Too short cooking time? As directed, the honey, water, butter mixture never coated the parsnips to begin with....Just became honey water. And so..after the initial 30 minute cooking time, the parsnips were nowhere near soft..I kept adding to the cooking time...I am now at over an hour and 30 minutes going on two hours. Looks like this sauce is reducing slowly and may coat..Probably will taste fine when done. After all,,boiling in buttered honey water will most definitely make most vegetables taste pretty good.....End result...OK,,after 2 hours+ cooking time (I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper..) this was indeed delicious..but I find the directions need some editing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made these as a side dish for my Christmas dinner and the recipe made exactly as listed was a hit! We love parsnips and are delighted to find a new way to prepare them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was just okay for me. Lacked flavor even with salt. Maybe with less water the glaze would have coated the vegetables better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I love parsnips, so I may be biased, but the whole family loved this. I did add a dash of cayenne to the honey/butter mixture and I tossed in a few carrots to add color. I believe the next time I would start the vegetables, without the honey glaze, at 425F to caramelize them and add the glaze for the last 10 minutes at 375f. Thanks, christne1786 we will have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
absolutely delicious! i added a small amt of nutmeg and cayenne for a kick. i was afraid of parsnips because i thought they were long versions of turnips. i was so wrong and had to go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Steamed ahead of time to reduce cooking time on the stove. Serve with drizzled honey and feta for a more elaborate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renbyrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Won't be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is my first experience cooking and eating parsnips. I had to cook them much longer than the recipe stated in order for them to be very soft. Perhaps if the dish had been covered, they would have cooked quicker. Neither my husband nor I cared for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. Added a pinch os cinnamon, too. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States