Honey Orange Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I really enjoyed this chicken. I used fresh basil instead of dried and more fresh orange zest. I don't have a grill, so I baked this and then put it under the broiler to brown. Was very yummy. Terrific hot or cold. I can't stand to throw away marinade, so I boiled the remainder down to a glaze to serve with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
A perfect meal for summertime. I used more orange zest than the recipe called for, and I squeezed fresh oranges for the juice. This gave the recipe a punch of orange flavor. I also baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. So moist and tender! FYI: I just purchased a microplaner for zesting oranges, lemons, etc. - - what a fabulous tool. Gives you all the zest and essentials oils that recipes call for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Loved the combo of ingredients, but desired a stronger flavor. Made it for a freezer meal swap and everybody liked it. I am going to take the recommmendation of a reviewer to use orange juice concentrate and fresh basil....and I love the idea of boiling down the marinate to make a glaze....I think those recommendations are exactly what it needs. I did like it enough to stick with it...I plan to make 3 batches to put in freezer storage bags tonight....easy pre-made meals to take camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Awesome, no changes necessary, but I do like a stronger basil flavor. Alternative for a stronger orange is to use 1/4 cup of frozen orange juice concentrate. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I didn't have time to marinade, so I just dumped all the ingredients in a frying pan and boiled the chicken in them, using extra OJ and a little water. When the chicken was done I took it out and added about 1-tsp cornstarch dissolved in water to the pan, and boiled the marinade into a sauce. The only changes I made were I used fresh basil and a fresh squeezed orange, and added another Tbsp honey. It was a very pretty, very easy, very yummy dish! Probably would have been bland without the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Great recipe - used fresh basil a bit extra zest and added a pinch of paprika & red pepper flakes, and substtd. ex.vir.olive oil for veg oil - nice! Also great on fish, like tilapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is an awesom recipe. With winter on the way I will try baking instead of grilling. I know it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was a very good recipe. The chicken was nice and juicy very flavorful. The only thing I will do differently is cut down on the orange, a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Very good! Served this to company and everyone liked it. I juiced one orange and marinated 2 chicken breasts cut in quarters. You can really taste the orange! I also added cilantro since our garden is flowing over with it. I'll grill it again. tasty leftovers for chicken wraps too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This chicken is quiet delicious. I did use fresh basil because I had some on hand and needed to use it, but other than that, I followed the recipe. Grilled chicken always has a great taste, but the after taste of this chicken is really what made the marinade worth it. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States