Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I liked this bread. It was tasty. It is soft and a little sweet. More of a dinner type bread than for sandwiches, unless looking for a sweeter taste with a sandwich. It does have that classic bread machine taste though. I was hoping for more of a homemade bread taste, which I have gotten with other bread machine recipes. I am finally able to understand many of these bread recipes on this site and how they will work with my Zojirushi bread machine. Note the amount of pounds the loaf states on the recipe. My machine makes 1.5 or 2lb standard loaves only. It does not make 1lb loaves. So, I did 1.5 times the recipe and it worked perfect size wise. I just used the changed servings button and changed it to 15 servings. I got 16 slices of bread using my Presto bread slicing guide at 159 calories per slice. I did use the basic setting and light crust as suggested. My only change was subbing 1 cup of the bread flour with Gold Medal's white whole wheat flour and right before the baking on the machine started I sprinkled some rolled oats on the top for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
very good texture and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Vance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Disaster! I followed the recipe exactly but the loaf was a soggy mess. The bottom half was almost completely uncooked, the top half had risen then collapsed. Shame as I was really looking forward to this one. Not sure if I will have another go as am not sure what to change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Gault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly Lane Epstein
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Sooo delicious! I definitely recommend doubling the recipe because the quantity is pretty small for a bread maker. I set my machine to 1.5 lbs (there is a 1.5 or 2.5 option) and it still seemed like I needed a little more dough. Recipe is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and each time my family begs for more! I followed this recipe exactly as written. So easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This bread is the best I have tried yet, and I don't plan to look any further! I use my kitchen aid because I make 2 loaves at a time and it won't fit in my bread machine. I let the honey, warm water and yeast sit for about 5 min before adding everything else in the mixing bowl. I use the dough hook and let it go on the lowest setting for 5 min, adding flour as it goes until the dough doesn't stick to the sides. Then I let it rise for 30min to 1 hour (doubled in size), punch it down, divide into 2 loaf pans and let it rise another 30 min- 1 hour(the size I want my loaf). I bake it at 350 for 30 min. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Did great in a donated Breadman TR444 bread maker that's been hard to get to produce a good loaf. For sweetener I used 1 T molasses, 3 T honey; sub'd 1/3 C whole wheat flour; the rest used King Arthur unbleached white bread flour; added 1 T water; used water warm; added 4 t gluten. 1.5 lb white bread medium setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackinthewoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Just made this for the second time. It's a great all-around bread recipe. Good for sandwiches, toast, and eating with butter. I'll make it regularly. The one pound loaf is a good size for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I've made using this recipe as a guide. I first made the recipe three different times in a bread machine, varying from exactly to almost exactly as written (higher oat:flour ratio, more honey etc.), and got delicious but extremely dense bread every time. The texture was not at all OK for sandwiches or toast. It became misshapen basically immediately after cooling and cutting it into neat slices was impossible. We still devoured it, but it was ugly enough that I wouldn't serve it to guests! Today I finally got the loaf to exactly the right texture. I doubled the yeast (2 tsp) and definitely recommend trying that. In the past, I had also used extra honey because I like this as more of a sweet dinner bread than for sandwiches. It tastes good with 1/4 cup, but if you like more of that sweet roll flavor in a loaf, go for about 1/3 cup. I use the white bread/medium crust setting on my bread machine. Do NOT use the quick cycle, especially without the added yeast. It needs that extra hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States