Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great bread. Made the first time as written except I did have to add 2 cups of flour. It was totally delicious. The second time, I added 1tsp yeast and used 4 cups whole wheat and 2 white and threw in 4 tablespoons of ground flax seed. It still had the wonderful texture of the original but healthier. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe makes FANTASTIC rolls. So far, I've eaten them plain with butter, put veggie burgers on them, and used them in a breakfast sandwich. Really a great recipe! I make the dough in my bread machine and then bake it in my regular oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
The bread has good flavour, but it only gets 3 stars as I was disappointed with how little it rose. My yeast was new and I proofed it as per the recipe but it just didn't rise a lot especially after shaping into loaves. I followed the recipe exactly and I may try it again using a little more yeast. My family still enjoyed it though. Thankyou Leslie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
incredible yummy bread! Loved it and definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquelineP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
love it!! so good, just sweet enough. My husband loved it. Will be baking this often. Thank you! Followed the recipe as written, which is unusual for me, I'm always tweeking recipes to our taste. This one did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have been making this bread for about 3 years now. Every time I try a new bread recipe, I always end up coming back to this one again! I do not use any shortening -- I use applesauce instead, and can never taste the difference. I also 1.5 this recipe and it makes 2 very nice size loaves. As is, my loaves always turned out very small. My only complaint about this recipe is that the dough is so sticky that it's very difficult to work with. But, it's our favorite bread, so we soldier through the sticky mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great with a few revisions. We prefer wheat bread, so I used 2 C all-purpose flour (I didn't have bread flour) and 2 C wheat flour. I added another 1/4 t yeast to help it out. At this point it didn't remotely resemble something that could become a loaf of bread, so I kept adding more flour until it did. I also added a bit more yeast to compensate. I took other reviewers' advice and decided to skip the honey and oats on top because I wanted to be able to make sandwiches. Instead, before baking it, I warmed a small amount of honey and milk, brushed it on top, sprinkled some oats, and brushed some more milk-honey mixture on top. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pistonhammer
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Cooked this in my oven, turned out really great, made some french toast out of it, under cooked it a little bit and the spots of dough were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pistonhammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
5 Stars all the way! This bread was so good! I did need to add more flour and used 1 cup of wheat flour in it. I did not use the honey on top of the loaf, instead I brushed it with milk before baking and then sprinkled on the oatmeal. I have made 6 loaves of this bread and it disappears almost before it even cools. I will be making this bread much in the years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Meh. I had a very different take on this recipe from most. Incorporating the suggestions of many reviewers, I used half whole wheat and half bread flour. The bread was good, not great, certainly nothing that rocked my world. It was moist and the flavor was OK. However, I'd suggest that the last 1/2 cup of water is unnecessary and contributes to a very sticky dough. Even after adding another 3/4 cup flour to try to give the dough some body, it was still soft. I went ahead with it, which I now know I shouldn't have done. There wasn't sufficient structure to support the loaf when it rose (I did not experience the problems others reported of the dough not rising.) It looked gorgeous, nice and high. But as soon as the heating element kicked on in the bread machine, POOF! it all deflated. The result was a relatively flat loaf - the outsides were higher than the middle, which was less than attractive. That aside, as I said, the flavor was still reasonably good, and let's face it: homemade bread, even so-so homemade bread, still tastes wonderful when fresh. I suspect that if I had left out the later addition of water, the results would be a lot lighter and higher. Because of the extra pain-in-the-butt step to allow the oats to steep for an hour, this is just too fussy a recipe for me to want to try again. I'm going to cut my losses on this one and move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States