Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made this last week for a company potluck, turned out perfect - moist and just the right amount of sweetness. To 'gild the lily' I took fresh salted butter and creamed it with some honey...totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is my favorite bread to make. My husband loves it as well. I add vitamin C powder and substitute 1/2 cup of flour with flax seed for added nutrition. I did have to use more flour since I use AP flour. I put honey on one of the loaves and leave the other as-is. We eat the one with honey fresh out of the oven... it's so YUMMY! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Delicious!!!!!!! My husband loved it. I don't like buying bread from the store and I try to find bread recipes that I can continue making and this one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly130

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Instead of 2 tablespoons of butter, I used the whole stick for the recipe. I also used some 10 grain cereal, prepared according to the package directions and allowed to cool while the oatmeal mixture soaked, used 1/3 whole wheat bread flour....also, i crused some oats and the ten grain cereal and used egg wash to help it stick to the bread. Even with all those changes, my friends and family swear that it is the best bread they've every tasted! this will be my go-to recipe (with my changes incorporated) for eternity! Thanks Leslie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great bread. Made the first time as written except I did have to add 2 cups of flour. It was totally delicious. The second time, I added 1tsp yeast and used 4 cups whole wheat and 2 white and threw in 4 tablespoons of ground flax seed. It still had the wonderful texture of the original but healthier. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe makes FANTASTIC rolls. So far, I've eaten them plain with butter, put veggie burgers on them, and used them in a breakfast sandwich. Really a great recipe! I make the dough in my bread machine and then bake it in my regular oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
The bread has good flavour, but it only gets 3 stars as I was disappointed with how little it rose. My yeast was new and I proofed it as per the recipe but it just didn't rise a lot especially after shaping into loaves. I followed the recipe exactly and I may try it again using a little more yeast. My family still enjoyed it though. Thankyou Leslie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
incredible yummy bread! Loved it and definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquelineP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
love it!! so good, just sweet enough. My husband loved it. Will be baking this often. Thank you! Followed the recipe as written, which is unusual for me, I'm always tweeking recipes to our taste. This one did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have been making this bread for about 3 years now. Every time I try a new bread recipe, I always end up coming back to this one again! I do not use any shortening -- I use applesauce instead, and can never taste the difference. I also 1.5 this recipe and it makes 2 very nice size loaves. As is, my loaves always turned out very small. My only complaint about this recipe is that the dough is so sticky that it's very difficult to work with. But, it's our favorite bread, so we soldier through the sticky mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States