Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
By far, the best bread ever. I've made this recipe several times and always need an extra cup to cup & 1/4 of bread flour. Moist, slightly sweet and delicious. Also wonderful toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I am new to bread baking and have been adding an uncertain amount of flour to make it more workable. The results are always delish! The next time I will follow the recipe as written. I'll bet that it will be even more wonderful with a more concentrated honey flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is the second time for making this bread, and it is by far the best homemade bread I have ever had! It comes out moist, and slightly sweet, just like I wanted an oatmeal bread to be. They rise beautifully and round up really nice on top. My family only wants me to make this now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great recipe. My bread machine broke so I tried the "old fashioned" way and the bread was awesome. My hubby said it was the best I have made so far. And I have been making bread forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very nice bread. Takes some time, but most bread recipes do, and it is worth it. I ended up with a soft loaf with a flavorful crumb. The household seemed to enjoy it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
After FIVE cups of flour I still had a sticky, unkneadable mess which finally dislocated my pinky finger. No idea what went so wrong when I followed the directions exactly up until I added more flour to get the dough to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairygothmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this recipe for a VBS tasting table. Shaped it into two large boules. while it spread more than I'd have liked, it was beautiful and so moist and tasty. With the extra honey/oatmeal on top, it was just perfect. Will be making this in loaves for my family next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is the best bread recipe that I've tried so far. I really liked the use of honey instead of sugar (like in many other recipes). I did need to add probably another cup of flour as I was kneading. I used only whole wheat flour. To avoid the sticky end result that some people mentioned, before I baked it I drizzled honey over the top and sprinkled uncooked oats and wheat germ over that. The result was hearty, homemade deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
reduced the recipes to 75% so i can bake 2 loafs in a 8x8 inch square pan side by side. i used my bread machine. soaked the oats as per instruction, then after the hour, just dumped the oat mixture into the machine, added flour and the yeast and had on the dough setting for kneading.. i did 2 cycles of kneading which is total of 40 minutes. i did add an add'l 1/2 cup of flour to help the dough come together which it never really did! anyway, i forged on...took it out, let it do the first rising which it did well and took about 2 hours, then took it out and tried to "shape" into loaf. didn't happen cuz it is just simply too wet and sticky of a dough so i just poured it into my 8x8 pan and made a cut straight down the center. let it do the 2nd rising, again looked good. popped in the oven for 38 min and out came a delicious, and chewy bread. this receipe is perfect. don't mind about the wet dough, think a cross between a pound cake dough and a bread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This bread is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States