Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
YUMMM!!!!! This is really great bread!!! I also halved with Whole Wheat Flour, im gonna make it again this weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My son recommended this recipe and I've made it several times. I follow the recipe exactly and it always comes out great! One thing I really like about it is, it's not crumbly like a lot of homemade bread. Sometimes I leave the honey and oats off the top and sometimes I put them on. It does tend to make the bread sticky, but Oh! So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This bread tastes seriously fantastic. When I first took it out of the oven, I couldn't stop eating it. Strange thing is, I was about to give up on it at first. I had to add about what seemed like an extra 1-1 1/2 cups of flour to get it to come together. I wish I would have measured, so I knew how much extra I was adding. I thought I did something wrong, but re-read some reviews and found out that others had to do the same thing. As I added more flour, I also increased both rise times to 1 1/2 hours each. I let it knead about 15 minutes, on the lowest spead, in the kitchen aid mixer which helped some with time and work. I decided to braid mine just like the main pic and it did look pretty. The honey on top is a little sticky, but it really adds to the flavor. Despite the issue with the flour and the longer rise times the taste is very good. As it is kind of dense, moist, and sweet I think it is best, personally, as bread and butter. That works for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe, comes out delicious every time! Needs to cook a bit longer than 30 minutes or it comes out a bit doughy, I find. Also wondering how to get an awesome braided effect on the top of the bread... must experiment! This bread is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I love this bread! I tried to make it a bit healthier by subing white whole wheat flour, cutting back on the honey, ommitting the toping, and addding 2 tb ground flax. I also used 2 pkgs of yeast to help the whole wheat rise like bread flour. I let my kitchenaid do all of the kneading. This is my family's new everyday bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great recipe, very sticky but is to be expected when using oats. Very easy to customize. Great with rolled raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mollyannelian
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This bread is absolutely fantastic. It was only my second attempt at baking bread and it came out perfectly. It's so delicious that I've already eaten one whole loaf all on my own. Horrible for my diet, but the flavor is amazing. I think I might try adding nuts the next time, but really this bread is fantastic all on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is the first review I've ever given on this website. I've been using enjoying many, many recipes from this site and after following this one to the letter over and over again and enjoying loaf after loaf, I had to let others know how wonderful this bread recipe is! It is very easy to follow, and the end product is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WineCountry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great bread! As some of the other reviewers mentioned, I also found it necessary to add some additional flour - about an extra cup. I didn't have bread flour on hand, but used half whole wheat flour and half AP flour (White Lily). Excellent result and well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I'm never making any other bread again. I made this using a bread machine. I soaked the oats in the boiling water, salt, honey, and butter (or oil, if you want to substitute). Then I put in the flour and the yeast. I set it to a standard bread setting, and it has come out flawless every time. My husband said tonight "wow, you must have worked out all of the flaws with bread making in the machine." I smiled and said no, I just found the right recipe. Canola oil can be substituted for butter. This is also the perfect recipe for anyone suffering from IBS. Using white flour and oats can really help the stomach digest unsolluable fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States