Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
The first time I made this, the water I used to activate the yeast was too hot and our kitchen was too cold for the dough to rise well so the bread came out really tough, but today I made it right (left a cup of hot water and the bowl of dough in the microwave and the dough rose perfectly!) and the bread was soft and delicious. I also added one more cup of bread flour and one more packet of yeast. It was worth the long preparation time and I am definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This bread is delicious! I replaced half of the bread flour with whole-wheat, as some of the other reviewers did, and it gave it a wonderful nutty taste. I used quick-cooking (instant) oats, and still got wonderful results, so don't worry if you don't have just plain rolled ones. However, I found that the amount of flour called for was not enough... It took about two cups more than it stated in the recipe. And, it did not rise very much. I finally gave up waiting for it to double, after going longer than the rising time on each rise. Even this would be okay, except the reason that I didn't give it five stars: the baking time is off. I cooked one 9-by-5, as called for, and two smaller loaves. The thirty minutes was perfect... for the mini loaves. The other was still doughy in the middle! I had to cover it with foil and put it back in the oven. When it finally became bread, not dough, it was very tasty, and worth all the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this today with only a few minor changes. I substituted 1 cup of the bread flour for wheat flour. I also added approx 2 tbsp of flax meal. The rest of the recipe was the same. The flavor of this bread is INCREDIBLE. I put it in the bread machine for the dough cycle and then took it out for the rising and baking. The dough was a bit sticky but it turned out perfect. I would highly recommend this recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a nice oatmeal bread. I added a couple handfuls of unsoaked oatmeal to the dough when I was almost done kneading to give it more texture and flavor, and also sprinkled some on top before I baked it. I also used all whole wheat flour. The result is a hearty, healthy and tasty loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Wow. I had high expectations from a recipe with 85 near perfect reviews and it met them. Very difficult to stop eating this once you begin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apache
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent! Easy to follow recipe. I followed the recipe to a tea and everyone loved it. I gave one loaf to a friend and she snacked on it all day until she realized that she had eaten the whole loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apache

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We all had a great time making this bread. Plus the flavor was great. Would make again and add some extra different grains....nummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I was surprised by how light this baked up. I used 1/2 WW and 1/2 bread flour. You would never know the oatmeal was in the dough. If I make this again I think I will either decrease the honey or increase it to make either a savory or a sweet bread. Thanks for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Fantastic flavor - I'm a beginner at this, but after only trying a few other recipes, I know I'll be returning to this one. BUT... honey topping has to go! I'm serving this bread to toddlers, and it's a mess. BTW... toddlers love the bread too! Otherwise, like so many others here, I had to add quite a lot of flour to get the dough the right consistency. But... flavor of this bread is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
OMG! This is such a good simple recipe. First time that I ever bake bread and I was very pleased with the outcome. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oyuki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States