Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
love it!! so good, just sweet enough. My husband loved it. Will be baking this often. Thank you! Followed the recipe as written, which is unusual for me, I'm always tweeking recipes to our taste. This one did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have been making this bread for about 3 years now. Every time I try a new bread recipe, I always end up coming back to this one again! I do not use any shortening -- I use applesauce instead, and can never taste the difference. I also 1.5 this recipe and it makes 2 very nice size loaves. As is, my loaves always turned out very small. My only complaint about this recipe is that the dough is so sticky that it's very difficult to work with. But, it's our favorite bread, so we soldier through the sticky mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great with a few revisions. We prefer wheat bread, so I used 2 C all-purpose flour (I didn't have bread flour) and 2 C wheat flour. I added another 1/4 t yeast to help it out. At this point it didn't remotely resemble something that could become a loaf of bread, so I kept adding more flour until it did. I also added a bit more yeast to compensate. I took other reviewers' advice and decided to skip the honey and oats on top because I wanted to be able to make sandwiches. Instead, before baking it, I warmed a small amount of honey and milk, brushed it on top, sprinkled some oats, and brushed some more milk-honey mixture on top. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pistonhammer
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Cooked this in my oven, turned out really great, made some french toast out of it, under cooked it a little bit and the spots of dough were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pistonhammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
5 Stars all the way! This bread was so good! I did need to add more flour and used 1 cup of wheat flour in it. I did not use the honey on top of the loaf, instead I brushed it with milk before baking and then sprinkled on the oatmeal. I have made 6 loaves of this bread and it disappears almost before it even cools. I will be making this bread much in the years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Meh. I had a very different take on this recipe from most. Incorporating the suggestions of many reviewers, I used half whole wheat and half bread flour. The bread was good, not great, certainly nothing that rocked my world. It was moist and the flavor was OK. However, I'd suggest that the last 1/2 cup of water is unnecessary and contributes to a very sticky dough. Even after adding another 3/4 cup flour to try to give the dough some body, it was still soft. I went ahead with it, which I now know I shouldn't have done. There wasn't sufficient structure to support the loaf when it rose (I did not experience the problems others reported of the dough not rising.) It looked gorgeous, nice and high. But as soon as the heating element kicked on in the bread machine, POOF! it all deflated. The result was a relatively flat loaf - the outsides were higher than the middle, which was less than attractive. That aside, as I said, the flavor was still reasonably good, and let's face it: homemade bread, even so-so homemade bread, still tastes wonderful when fresh. I suspect that if I had left out the later addition of water, the results would be a lot lighter and higher. Because of the extra pain-in-the-butt step to allow the oats to steep for an hour, this is just too fussy a recipe for me to want to try again. I'm going to cut my losses on this one and move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I also sprinkle some oatmeal on top of the bread before baking and it turned out really nice. I doubled it too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I substituted 1/2 of the flour with Soy flour and Spelt flour. It came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made the recipe using my bread machines dough cycle and it turned out great. I prepared the boiling water, oatmeal, butter, etc. ahead of time as described in the instructions but only with 1 2/3 cups water then added 1/3 cup more water with the yeast to make a total of 2 cups water and adjusted the flour up to 4.5 cups so the whole recipe was closer to my usual ration of water and flour. The dough was easy to work with prepared like that. The oatmeal mixture was dumped directly on top of the flour which was waiting in the bread pan. Yeast on top of that then into the machine for the 90 minute bread cycle. I removed the dough and divided it 60/40 for 2 loaves of different sizes. Flattened and rolled up each, covered for 1 hour then baked for 25 minutes at 350. The big loaf was 90% gone 1 hour after it was baked (wife and 3 kids helping). The crust was very nicely crisp and the bread soft and hearty. The sweetness of the honye could be tasted but I put more on mine (no one else did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is ta good honey and oatmeal bread I have made. The dough is like every saids very sticky and I didn't feel my bread rised as high as I liked, but it was delicious. Also, our family loves our bread very sweet, so I had to add about 1/4 - 1/2 cup of white sugar. I will definately make this bread again, Oh, I used regular flour instead of the bread flour and it was still great. I don't know if it is because I used regular flour or not, but my bread tends to go really dry after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States