Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I've had better bread. I really wanted to like it, but I have to say it's just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Despite adding tons more flour to thicken up the dough, my loaves still came out deflated and doughy. Huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
EXCELLENT! Mixed the dough in my bread machine (had to add extra flour). Made into 20 rolls. Baked at 350 for 20 mins. Have made this recipe many times so far and passed the recipe onto my sister. They also love them. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Wish I had read the reviews before trying this recipe. Being very new to baking bread I thought something was majorly wrong when the dough came out live a thick mush (made me think of Oliver Twist asking for more gruel), and I had followed the instructions exactly, placing the oats, etc. in the boiling water, letting it sit for an hour, etc. Fortunately, having had success with Amish White bread, I had an idea what the dough would look like if I wanted to knead it. (Almost said needed to knead it, but decided a groaner might not be needed). I added about a 1/2 cup of flour at a time until the dough was workable (ended up adding about 2 cups). I did not add the honey oats to the top (consider that an unnecessary garnish). It turned out great! My wife loved it and said I can give up the Amish Bread, though I doubt I will, both are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
There is way too much water for four cups of flour and it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I made a few modifications (halved the honey; replaced one cup of flour with whole wheat flour and added half a teaspoon of yeast like the others did; and added walnut and raisins) and it still turned out well. Crusty outside and moist inside. I mixed on high speed for about 10-15 minutes and resisted to add any extra flour. The dough was very sticky at first but became more and more manageable as the mixing went on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Great flavor and texture! The loaves didn't even last the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good recipe...it took about a total of 6 cups of flour, not 4. Maybe next time, I'll decrease the water. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Added approx 1 cup flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This recipe is good. I changed it a bit. I use whole milk instead of water and used all purpose white flour. I don't scoop the flour out of the bag as this makes the dough heavy, I sprinkle it from the bag into the measuring cup. I make sure I don't use over 5 cups of flour. After I scald the milk I put in 3 tablespoons of molasses and a 1/4 cup of honey and 2 cups of rolled oats and 3 tablespoons of butter. I stir it around and then add a half cup of cold water, i check with my fingertips if its feels really warm but not hot I will add the yeast, it should feel very warm but not hot. I put in the yeast and stir it around and then wait 10 minutes, add 2 cups of flour and stir it around and then add one more cup of flour. I place about a half cup of flour onto the table and carefully scoop the dough out of the pan onto the flour and carefully just keep putting flour onto the dough and just lightly patting it in until I can start to kneed, it takes me about 3 minutes doing this and then I kneed about 3 minutes, put the dough into a bowl in a very warm place, sometimes the car is really warm and I set it in the car with a towel on it, don't set directly in the sun, did that once and it started cooking it slightly, just find a really, really warm place and set it there. I use to over knead and put in too much flour and now as soon as its not sticking to me, its still really sticky but not sticking all over me. I stop kneading and now it comes out great. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States