Honey Oatmeal Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
My family really liked this bread - a more interesting flavor than plain whole wheat. I found the dough to be too sticky, so I added some extra flour - about 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Moist and light yet healthy with a great wheat flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This bread baked up perfectly in my bread machine. Was absolutely delicious and so good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe! I too had to add about 1/4 C flour, and kneaded for about 5 minutes before letting it rise again. Good healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Great bread, Frank! Thanks for sharing. I, like other reviewers found that the dough needed another 1/4 of flour. Because I like to make most bread recipes into dinner rolls, I also used 2 teaspoons of yeast. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Not only is this recipe easy, but it baked up perfectly in my bread machine. Great flavor and color - and very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This is the second recipe I tried in my new bread machine, and it came out okay. The flavor was good, but the loaf was small, dense, and the crust was very hard. This may be the fault of my bread machine. However, since I made this recipe, I have had great success with other recipes in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Fantastic healthy bread - I increased the loaf size to 2 lbs - so I added an extra 1/2 cup of bread flour - as well as adding 1 cup of raisins at the add-in stage of my machine. I also did not have multigrain on my machine and used the wheat settting instead - total baking time doing it this way is 3 hours and 55 minutes - you need to watch your machine when it is kneading and if necessary mix the items together with a rubber spatula - even though that forced me to restart again - it did no harm to the bread. Thank you Frank for a great recipe -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I'm sure it's better than it turned out for me. I cheated and used all whole wheat flour. I made it into rolls, which were very dense, didn't rise and taste a lot more bland than I like. Would probably be good as a really wholesome breakfast roll with some honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
There was way too much liquid. I added 1/2 cup bread flour, but the loaf was still small, hard and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States