Honey Oat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really like this recipe. I use 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and at least 2 tablespoons of honey as well. Also, I've tried it with both Sprite and Dr. Pepper instead of beer and results are sooooo delicious!!! You should definitely try it with other carbonated drinks to see what you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I'm sorry. I'm always the one that feels bad for the bad ratings...also the one that ignores the lonely bad rating which mine likely will be, but this was AWFUL! The beer made it very bitter (I used the Sam's Honey Porter that an earlier reviewer raved about). Maybe a milder beer is in order. Still I found it not sweet enough. Beer breads I've tried in the past have had a more sweet "aftertaste". I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
very bitter! something missing! not sure if its sweetness, needs more honey or sugar or WHAT, but i definately will never use this recipe ever again! also - takes twice as long as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is great beer bread! I used half whole wheat flour and a bottle of Sam Adams Honey Porter. Turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Quick and always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Healthier alternative to all the other beer bread recipes. I love the extra texture the oatmeal gives it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
A great recipe! The oats provide a good texture and the honey adds sweetness. I served this with my own chili recipe, and it was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
YUM! I followed the previous reviews and added a tablespoon of brown sugar instead of the tsp it called for - and I used quick oats because its what I had on hand. It took quite a bit longer to cook than the recipe stated, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Taste is good, but I agree with another reviewer - something was missing. I served it with cabbage soup - good for sopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This bread was easy to put together and looked beautiful. Took about ten minutes longer to bake. No one cared for it because of the strong bitter taste from the beer.(Used Sam Adams).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States