Honey Oat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I really like this recipe and so does my wife (who doesn't like beer). It does take longer to cook that what it says. I don't measure the honey but I'm sure I put more than the recipe calls for. I put less butter with no real effect on flavor too otherwise I follow the recipe. I have tried different beers, mild and strong flavored, and I have liked them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have never made bread before because using yeast always seemed so difficult. This recipe is so quick and easy and delicious! And it is great toasted! I did increase the brown sugar and honey as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was easy and delicious, maybe too delicious :) I thought it was good as written, and I followed the directions as written. I use a tea loaf pan, as that was what I had, and it took about 10 minutes longer to bake. I would recommend letting the beer come to room temp before adding. I see many comments about bitter taste, if you use a bitter beer-such as a porter, ale, IPA-you will get a bitter tasting bread. Try using a larger, pilsener or fest-type beer. I used schwarzbier (dark/black beer) by this would awesome with a Marzen or Octoberfest beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I don't own a bread pan (I am not much of a baker) so I made muffins instead and they turned out great! I baked them for about 15 minutes at 375 and they were perfect. I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of honey, as others suggested. It was so incredibly easy and it only requires stuff that most non-bakers have on hand anyway, and it makes for a perfect base recipe that you can add onto. I will definitely be experimenting with this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Really wanted this to work but no such luck. Any beer other than a very light Budweiser or Coors (ugh) will give the bread a very strong bitter taste that no one liked. The butter melted on top strangely gave it a salty-tasting crust (what's up with that?)...we are finishing the loaf thanks to a LOT of honey, butter and jam to mask the bitterness. Deleting this on from the recipe box permanently. For those that do try it it takes 10 minutes longer than noted to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I love this recipe. So fast and easy. I've been using Guiness Extra Stout, gives it a nice rich flavour. I also like to cook it a little longer than the recipe states to get a real crispy crust, but that could just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this recipe tonight exactly as written with exception to my baking vessel. I made muffins instead of a loaf. I had to bake them for 45 minutes so I would imagine it would take at least that to fully cook a loaf as well. Besides that, it was an excellent bread. The taste was not too sweet, and not bitter at all. My family all loved it and we have some picky eaters for sure. I used a can of light beer from the grocery store and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiejo302

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Vernia, Texas, USA
Living In: Floresville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I used Pumpkinhead beer, so it had a very slightly sweet taste, and it seemed to compliment the sugar (which I added 3 Tbsp, and 2 Tbsp of honey, and 2 Tbsp of baking powder, because I like my bread puffy). The beer made the batter very light and fluffy, but the oats gave it a very nice texture. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I took into consideration the recommendations made by others for this recipe and it turned out great! I left it in for 10-15 minutes longer, and put in extra brown sugar. I also used Bud Light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
After 40 years of making beer bread I have found that the quality of the beer does make a difference. Using a beer like Budweiser or Bush is a better choice. Also don't use 'lite' beers. Using a strong full flavored beer will overpower the taste of the bread. I would increase the amount of brown sugar to 1 or 2 tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States