Honey Nut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was awesome. I used the tips of others to cut down on the fat/sugar. This is now a staple along with the homemade yogurt found on this site. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
My boyfriend and I made this because we couldn't find our favorite cereal at the store for weeks. This is our new favorite cereal!! We also added raisins and M&M's for a hiking snack. We baked ours for the regular time and it got a little crispy on the bottom shelf, so next time we will put it on the top shelf or in for less time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Wow! I have made this granola 4 times since I found the recipe a few weeks ago. As soon as the family eats it up, I make more. I've changed it a bit each time, after reading all the reviews, and I think I've finally settled on my favorite: I use oats, sliced almonds and sunflower seeds (but no other nuts), whole flax seed, wheat germ (about 1/2 cup each)for added nutrition, plus coconut for sweetness. I up the oil and honey just a bit, plus add a bit of real maple syrup for flavor. I add a combo of regular and golden raisins, but only at the very end (otherwise they burn-yuck!). I bake it on parchment, on a lower temp (about 225) and stir often, every 7-10 minutes. I pulled it off to another pan to cool - trust me, this is a must! And then finally, since we like ours clumpy, as it was cooling, I pulled off bits and squeezed hunks together. I then mixed about half the still warm granola with about 1/3 cup powdered milk. It gave amazing flavor and texture to the finished product. This recipe is PHENOMENALLY good - and versatile and cheap. Wow, what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDocter
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is soo yummy! I made it a few years ago and decided to make it again. Way better then last time!! I made some changes, I doubled the honey to make it stick together, instead of sunflower seeds I added 1/2 cup of walnuts and cut down the pecans to 1/2 cup instead of 1, with the walnuts it was too many nuts. After baking it I put it in a gallon ziploc bag and then added a little more then 1 cup cranberries(I LOVE cranberries in my granola!) and around a cup of white chocolate chips and then shook it up to mix! I also only used 2 tablespoons of olive oil instead of canola oil and added 1/3 cup of applesauce instead of so much oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
My first try at granola and this was delish! My 2 year old twins loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I don't make any modifications and use the recipe as is. Actually, that's not quite true. I have been known to throw in a handful of dried cranberries after it's out of the oven. I make this for gifts all the time - looks awesome in a large mason jar. Everyone loves it. Great with milk, stirred into yogurt or just eaten by the handful :-). Do put it on parchment paper for baking. Makes clean up a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Great tasting! I omitted the nuts due to allergies and added 1/4 c wheat germ. This is great with milk on top. Hubby raved about it, kids liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Love it! It's my new breakfast must. I tried the rice crispies...but switched to just a cup of my old love, post blueberry morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EccoXile

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Could use more bake time. I used Ocean Spray's "Craisins" Orange Flavor Sweetened Dried Cranberries...which added a tangy surprise to my granola. I also added some shreaded coconut. Overall, a good recipe. SUPER EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is awesome! Could use a little less cinnamon and a little more bake time, otherwise fantastic. With the right nuts and dried fruits it could be the best i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States