Honey Nut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I've never made granola before. It was delicious! I did add more honey and craisins and next time will use walnuts instead of pecans. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annc18418

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is a very good recipe and very easy! I swaped sunflower seeds for dried cranberries otherwise followed to a T. Mine took almost 40 minutes to brown. I will be using this as my base recipe from now on. I love that there isn't any sugar or corn syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Really tasty and easy to make! I used a mixture of old-fashioned and quick oats. I omitted the sunflower seeds and instead used 1/2 cup whole flax seeds. I didn't have enough honey so I used 1/2 cup of a mixture of honey, maple syrup and corn syrup. Tasted just as well. I had to bake for about 8 extra minutes before it seemed done. I agree it needs a lot more honey or something to sweeten it though. It's a good cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
will make again, next time with more walnuts and less sunflower seeds. Also wished I would have added more honey like others suggested, will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
A very good basic recipe. I would only add that you should cover your baking sheets with parchment paper or foil to prevent any mess and sticking. Otherwise, you'll be trying to scrape granola off of your sheets for a week. Also, if adding nuts, use raw (not roasted) when baking the mix. If you (like me) only have roasted nuts, add them in after baking, but before the mixture is cooled. I also add in raisins and chopped dates at this time. Anyway, it's a very good recipe and you're going to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsDoolittle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is the best granola recipe. I was looking for a way to get my husband to eat oatmeal to help with his high cholestrerol. He refuses to eat oatmeal but eats this granola like candy. He thinks it is desert! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
So, I've never made granola or even eaten granola (except in the form of granola bars) so I wasn't quite sure what to expect w/this, but it "looked" healthy and included lots of things I like, so I thought I'd give it a try. I did NOT use pecans (personal preference) and I decreased cin to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp of almond extract (I love almond!). I also added about double the vanilla because I used cheap imitation extract as opposed to the good stuff. This recipe was a bit ambiguous for me, thought it could just be that I'm a moron (I wasn't sure when/how to combine the wet & dry...I ended up mixing both sep and then combining before baking). Per an earlier review, I spread in 2 parchment lined cake pans for easier stirring. I stirred regularly, though I question whether I really needed to. I started at 275 for first 15 min, then upped to 300 for the remaining 25. Both my husband and I have snatched bites from the pans and like it; he'll probably eat w/milk as cereal and I'll prob just eat dry for a snack. UPDATE: It's the next day and I'm really enjoying this dry as a snack...the almond extract is really what's making it work for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was so easy and really good. I used cashews instead of sunflower seeds. I was out of cinnamon, so obviously it was missing a little something. I'm sure next time it will be even better when I can use cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
AT LAST!!!!!! My husband eats granola every day. It got so expensive I thought I'd try to make it myself, after all, how hard could it be??? Little did I know, it would be a real chore to find a recipe that my husband liked. Other recipes were too sweet, too oily, etc., etc., This one is perfection and I am so GRATEFUL!!!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
OUTSTANDING! I Made this for my family to rave reviews. This recipe is also good for people like me, who are not allergic to nuts but are allergic to dairy (many boxed granolas contain milk!) At least I know whats in my granola now! Once again...outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarita Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States