Honey Mustard Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This recipe is a great way to get more tofu in your diet! I used silken, or Japanese style, tofu so I froze the tofu, then thawed it and (gently) squeezed out the excess water before I dredged it in the flour. This gives the tofu a chewier, more meat-like texture and keeps it from turning into mush when you cook it. I didn't have any trouble getting the flour to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Really delicious! Maybe a bit tricky if you're new to tofu - definitely PRESS it first (half hour or more under a weighted plate) and it'll be fine. I didn't think my sauce was going to be thick eough but it thickened beautifully when I added the honey-mustard; also worried about the tofu breaking up but it held up fine. Even my toddler ate hers all up in a rice bowl! I used just one bouillon cube and loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Tasted great! A few suggestions that I found helpful. 1-use fresh tofu if you can find it (a chinese grocery may have it. It tastes MUCH better). 2-press or freeze the tofu to take out some of the water. I didn't have much trouble getting the flour to stick..just threw the tofu and flour in a tupperware dish and shook it around a little. Served it with noodles...yum. I liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
You have no idea how good this is. My children love it. It is labor intensive, but the results are excellent. I have made it with and without the wine. I used more water when I didn't use the wine, and I couldn't really tell the taste difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I love honey mustard, but this recipe was AWFUL! I followed the suggestions of other reviews and coated my tofu in egg and made the sauce seperately. Whew, am I glad that I did! I ended up not using the sauce because it was inedible and I made a completely different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Bergeon
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. I pressed the tofu for two hours prior to cutting it up. I would have frozen it first if I had time as that makes for a meatier texture. I cut the tofu into small chunks for easier browning. I also used canola oil instead of butter to lower the fat. I took the tofu out after it browned to drain and made the sauce in the same pan. I did thicken the sauce with a cornstarch and water mixture because mine seemed to thin. I added the tofu back in at the end to heat through. I served mine over brown rice with chopped green onions on the top for garnish. Was very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Bergeon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I followed the advice of other reviews by cooking the sauce separately. To jazz it up a bit I added fresh chopped rosemary and thyme to the flour to give it an herb crust and cut the tofu into large tofu "steaks" rather than cubes. I lightly drizzled the sauce over the entire plate and then laid the tofu over pan seared garlic asparagus (another recipe that I got from this site!). I then drizzled a bit more sauce on top of the tofu. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was one of the first tofu recipies I tried. I loved Honey Mustard Chicken but then became a vegetarian, so I couldn't have it. I was grateful to find this recipe and share it with a few friends who were willing to try tofu. I usually adjust the measurements for the sauce so I have extra to go over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. I prepared the sauce separately, as others suggested. I pressed the tofu and dipped them in beaten egg to ensure the flour stuck, and used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray in place of frying them in butter, as I usually do to cut some calories. I added the sauce at the end, and the tofu was crisp and brown and delicious, and served it with rice. Nothing fancy, just a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This is a great tofu main dish. I recommend sauteeing the tofu alone before adding the sauce to give it a crispy texture. I served with dinner rolls and the grilled asparagus also found on this site. This one is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States