Honey Mustard Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This is a great tofu main dish. I recommend sauteeing the tofu alone before adding the sauce to give it a crispy texture. I served with dinner rolls and the grilled asparagus also found on this site. This one is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I love honey mustard, but this recipe was AWFUL! I followed the suggestions of other reviews and coated my tofu in egg and made the sauce seperately. Whew, am I glad that I did! I ended up not using the sauce because it was inedible and I made a completely different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Good, I liked it but I have had better tofu. Maybe honey mustard just isn't my thing. I had to add more wine because it seemed a bit sweet to me. Gets a four because it was not a bad dish for being so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This was good even though the tofu didn't turn out crispy for me. Next time I'll try the sauce separately or use larger 'steaks' instead of cubes like others recommended. I let it cool to lukewarm and put it over a simple salad and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is really good and super easy once you get the hang of it. Freeze the tofu for better texture and to keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. I prepared the sauce separately, as others suggested. I pressed the tofu and dipped them in beaten egg to ensure the flour stuck, and used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray in place of frying them in butter, as I usually do to cut some calories. I added the sauce at the end, and the tofu was crisp and brown and delicious, and served it with rice. Nothing fancy, just a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I followed the advice of other reviews by cooking the sauce separately. To jazz it up a bit I added fresh chopped rosemary and thyme to the flour to give it an herb crust and cut the tofu into large tofu "steaks" rather than cubes. I lightly drizzled the sauce over the entire plate and then laid the tofu over pan seared garlic asparagus (another recipe that I got from this site!). I then drizzled a bit more sauce on top of the tofu. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is so great! I altered the recipe according to my diet & it came out perfect! (1) I used 1/4 cup Splenda instead of honey. (2) No flour or butter. I used 2 TSP olive oil & the tofu fried up nicely, but not crisp. (3) I used the only cooking wine I had in the house .. red. -- Everythign came out so awesome! This is going to be a repeat indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
pretty tasty. I wished the tofu stayed crunchy after I added the sauce. Next time I will make the sauce seperatly and and pour it on top of the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This looked like a great recipe but turned out AWFUL. My husband remarked that of all the hundreds of new dishes I've tried, this is the first one that was completely inedible. I don't know what went wrong. The tofu cutlets browned up nicely, but as soon as I poured in the liquid mixture the crispy coating came off. The taste and texture were horrendous. I wish I knew what had happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States