Honey Mustard Chicken with Pretzel Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes. It is delicious and I ate 2 servings of it within 5 minutes (shame on me), I omitted the red wine vinegar because I didn't have any, and added 1 tbsp of mayonnaise. I also dipped the chicken in the pretzel mixture first, then the mustard mixture, then again in the pretzel mixture to make it extra crispy! Make sure to make extra honey mustard sauce as it will go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clh5030

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was great! I cooked it a little too long (I had smaller chunks) but that's my fault :)! I thought that the flavor was wonderful and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So good! I thought this would be best just for a casual weeknight dinner, but imagine my surprise when I discovered that this is a dish fit to serve to company! The only possible downside to note is that the pretzel breading is best when served fresh out of the oven. If allowed to sit, it tends to soften and lose its crunch. If you know you'll have leftovers, reserve the honey mustard sauce from the last step and don't put it on the chicken until you're reheating. I would recommend reheating in the oven at about 325 for 10 minutes, which should help restore some crispiness to the breading after being stored in a humid refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
the chicken itself I made as written/no changes. I did make minor changes to the dipping sauce. In the past I have always made my dijoniase type sauces with half mayo and half mustard...so I did the same here....1/2c mayo and 1/2c mustard instead of 3 TB mustard...and I left the salt out of the sauce. Not sure why you need it/plenty of flavor in the mustard sauce and there is more than enough sodium in this recipe just in the pretzle rods used to make the chicken coating. Overall family really liked the flavor, but like some other posters mine did not come out crispy....need to work on that aspect but would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I make this with Gluten Free pretzels and it is wonderful. My husband likes this more than any other crunchy coating I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
my husband is pretzel addicted so this was a good meal to win points with him, yet i thought it was kind of one note - needed a kick of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
GREAT! served for company tonight and everyone loved it. put chicken on rack placed over a baking pan so that the underside didn't get soggy and was cooked the same as the top. used salted pretzel rods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We were looking forward to this recipe so much. My kids are pretzel and honey mustard freaks and love any kind of chicken so I was sure this would be a great hit since the flavor combos were spot on for us. However, even after following the recipe to a 'T', this was found to be a tad on the dry side and just didn't have the "crunch" we were expecting. I will be trying it again, maybe with some tweaking we can get it to be a better fit for us. LOVE the concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delish! Anyone who 'knows' me here on AR knows that my brother is one of the pickiest eaters in existence. He ate two chicken breasts and wouldn't stop talking about how good it was, makes it an automatic 10 star recipe in my house! I made it just as stated, except I made a bit less sauce and used 1 tbsp of the spicy mustard in the sauce because I didn't have quite enough of the plain yellow mustard. The first part of the recipe, for dunking the chicken made the perfect amount for me, it was just enough for the four breasts. If you have particularly large breasts (giggle), you might want to make a little more of it, since it was JUST enough. Thanks for the excellent recipe, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
made one single breast for my dinner tonight. it was very good...but beware if you use the end of the bag like i did, it will be salty. i wasn't even thinking! duh! thanks for the post kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States