Honey-Mustard Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is an extremely simple, yet very tasty recipe! I tried to make it as close to the recipe a possible...but after I'd started making it, I realized that I was out of regular dijon mustard. I used honey mustard instead...and it tasted great. I also forgot to thaw my chicken breasts ahead of time...and I put this together at about 11:30 last night. I just put the frozen breasts in the greased pan and poured the marinade over. I covered it with foil and put it in the fridge overnight. It made a great lunch for us...after church, I pulled the pan out of the fridge and just popped it in the oven. I did find that it took a lot longer to bake...more like an hour. But we have problems with our oven over/under heating, so that might have been the case. The finished chicken was extremely juicy, tender, and the flavors of honey, mustard, and curry came through very well, harmonizing nicely without anything being overpowering. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
As stated, easy, tasty, and very kid-friendly. The resident "kid" is my husband who just smelled this cooking and asked was I trying to kill him; meaning was this going to be too spicy. (Yea! It was not.) He ate, seeming to contemplate every bite. His usual post meal comment if pressed is the ever endearing, "I ate it, didn't I?" But at the end of this meal, he said, "Pretty good." So, I guess it's a "high five", on all points touted. // I halved the recipe, and had a scant 1/4 cup of the sauce leftover, so day 2 for lunch I sauteed some onion and carrot, stirred in some rice, pushed aside and cooked an egg in that. Put in a bowl and seasoned with S & P and poured the leftover sauce over all. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This cooked up to moist, flavorful chicken but the wonderful aroma as it cooked wasn't as obvious in the finished product. Oddly enough, I felt the honey mustard combination overwhelmed the curry. I will add a bit more curry powder if I make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was very good for as simple as it was. Had a nice flavor that was not overwhelming. Chicken came out moist and could not have been easier- I threw it in the fridge to marinate before work and popped it in the oven when I got home. Thanks for an easy weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was definitely a tasty dish I liked the combination of the sweet of the honey and the "kick" of the curry powder. It's a keeper that I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this as the Group Recipe for the Recipe Exchange for the week of May 31st. Despite the fact that everything conspired against this recipe, it turned out great! I even forgot to marinate it at all, and there was still so much flavor in the chicken and the delicious sauce that I can't imagine it being any better marinated! I also have to thank the Recipe Group for choosing this recipe as it prompted me to finally make my own curry powder, as I have always avoided recipes with curry in them because of my dislike (ok, loathing) of fenugreek. So for this recipe I made my own fenugreek-free blend, and I really, really liked the curry sauce :) Note: I only had 3 pieces of chicken so I had extra sauce, which was great over rice. In the future I would make sure to always make extra sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. I really liked it and will make it again. It is so easy to throw together to marinate, and then it cooks in the oven while I pull together the rest of dinner. The chicken is extremely flavorful and tender, and the sauce is great over rice. Definitely a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I made this for recipe group, we enjoyed it. I cut the curry to 1 tsp because I was serving it to children. I found it left me wanting some fruity flavor with it. I think next time I might add a little bit of apricot preserve just to balance the curry. I would increase the curry to the full recipe amount, it wouldn't be too much for us next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This chicken has excellent honey mustard flavor, is beautifully moist and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Good, solid 4 star recipe. Only 1 of the kiddos didn't like it-not too bad:) Funny how the tastes differ, regarding other reviews because we tasted the mustard & curry predominately & couldn't taste the honey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States