Honey Milk Tea - Hong Kong Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Deffinately didn't turn out as I expected. I thought the honey was a little overpowering and the sweetened condensed milk was a bit much. But I think with a little tweeking, I can find something that suits my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was delicious! even better when I added cinnamon sticks :p yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My boyfriend and I love honey milk tea. He likes his mild and I like mine sweet. For his, I used less sweetened condensed milk and a larger amount of water and tea. He said the flavor was just like the tea he used to have with his friends in China.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
First I tried just the honey and tea, which was too sweet for me; then I tried just the sweetened condensed milk and tea which was still a little too much, so I used a tablespoon of sweetened condensed per cup of tea. Still not quite like the delicious stuff from a shop, but pretty doggone good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
At first I wasn't sure if I liked this so much but it grew on me. I made a lot so there was leftovers. I enjoyed it more the next day after being refrigerated for a day. I don't know if I was more in the mood for it or it actually got better sitting there but I did like it quite a bit the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I could not find the pekoe tea so instead, I just got a random black tea. The black tea was not strong enough, I was so disappointed. However, an idea came to me. I boiled the tea leaves in water for a while, then I left it on med-low heat for half an hour. The taste of the black tea was so much stronger. It made a huge difference! Then I added all the other ingredients and it was perfect. It really reminded me of the milk tea I had in Hong Kong. Thanks for sharing the ingredient!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Wow, it was better than what I had expected. Perfect amount of creaminess and sweetness. An excellent formula. I used the exact recipe and directions. I made enough to fill my pitcher. Tonight I am cooking Asian. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I love this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it. My cousins and I made this tea a few weeks ago, and used plain milk in it; it tasted so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I guess orange pekoe tea is just a medium grade black tea, but I thought it meant orange spice black tea. It's good with either! I used the full amount of honey and sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Excellent tea!! thank you for sharing. For those who had a tough time finding Pekoe tea, it is found under the Lipton brand in Asian supermarkets. I added boba to the tea and it tastes even better than what I can buy at the tea shops!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States