Honey Lime Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe actually exceeded my expectations. We split, seeded, and precooked the squash in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees while the fish was marinating. This allowed for easy peeling and cutting of the squash and elminated and undercooking of the squash with the fish. We added the cubed squash to the baking dish, laid on the asparagus, then topped with the fish. We also drizzled just a little of the marinade on the fish before sprinkling on the poultry seasoning and putting in the oven. Totally forgot about the mozzarella, but very happy with our dinner as was. The marinade really gave the fish a great flavor, the squash was tender and sweet, and the asparagus (thin spears)was delicately crunch and mild. Hint: heat the honey in a bowl for a few seconds in the microwave if it doesn't want to blend easily with the lime juice and garlic. Ours wanted to gel up a little from the cold lime juice out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Soo good. I made my own poultry seasoning with some rosemary and sage and tyme. Didn't use the squash (I'm pretty sure the picture is summer squash not butternut) and it was amazing. Thanks for a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Absolutely outstanding! I reserved a little of the marinade (before placing the fish in it) and put it on after taking the fish out of the oven. And, sprinkled lime zest over the fish prior to cooking. This was the best tilapia we have had in ages. And, it occurred to me that this marinade would be fantastic with chicken, with the lime zest and coconut sprinkled over it. Will try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Instead of butternut squash I used zucchini squash with the asparagus and I cooked them first w/out the fish for about 10 mins. Then added the fish and continued cooking for another 15-20 mins. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Good as is, but instead of discarding the extra marinade, I poured it over the veggies prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My family and I just didn't like this one very much, I'm sorry to say. I'm basing the rating merely on how well we liked the flavors, nothing else about the recipe. I'm inexperienced at preparing fish, and I thought I'd like these flavors, but I just didn't like the sweetness with the fish. It was too sweet in our opinion. It was edible, but not something I'd prepare again. Sorry! Just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The main flavors in this recipe were really good. I worked from the concept and modified it greatly due to food allergies on our end and what we had at home. I also marinated the fish for a full day and cooked the fish in the marinade instead of pouring the marinade off. The other thing that really complimented this dish well was I created a black bean onion and zucchini side dish and this went perfectly with the honey, lime flavor. We opted without the cheese due to food allergies. Thanks for sharing this dish as it provided a great start to what became a fantastic meal for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The flavor was amazing. I make tilapia a LOT so it was nice to have a different flavor than our usual butter, garlic, dill flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great marinade - works on chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I only marinated for an hour like it said, and was surprised that I could really taste the honey and lime flavor. Next time, I will add a bit more garlic. I didn't use the poultry seasoning, as others suggested, and don't think the mozzarella added anything, so next time I will omit. I did use different vegies - squash, onion, and a bag of frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. I cooked them for 10 minutes before adding the fish. I also added the marinade, pouring it over the vegetables, instead of discarding it. Great combination for the fish!! My boyfriend's new favorite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States