Honey Glazed Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This came out pretty tasty with some adjustments. I used the same proportions of ingredients, but approximately tripled the sauce amount for use on a pound of scallops. I had large scallops, U10 (about the diameter of ping pong balls), and 15 minutes cook time was plenty. Instead of cooking the sauce in and hoping it would thicken, I spooned a little sauce over each for flavor, but let most of it simmer On the stove for the 15 minutes. It thickened to a nice caramelish consistency, and I ladled these over the scallops when plating. I also added about 1/4 cup coconut milk that I needed to use up; it was a perfect complement to the other flavors. Not a spice combo I would have come up with on my own (especially cooking in the lemon juice!), thanks for sharing this recipe! And anyone having liquid issues - most commercially sold scallops are injected with a solution to keep them from drying out, and this liquid is expelled during the cooking. The labels are supposed to disclose this. You can minimize this by draining them on a rack or small colander in the fridge overnight, then patting them dry before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I would double the sauce recipe since you will definitely want more! My brother-in-law doesn't even like scallops and he devoured his portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong but my scallops were floating in liquid (not from the scallops themselves either). Not good. Lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I just made this and it was awesome! I served it with scallion rice and baby asparagus drizzled with butter and garlic...this is definitely a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! The only change I made was that I omitted the margarine and added 1 tablespoon of pure maple syrup instead. I wrapped the scallops altogether in tinfoil and grilled for about ten minutes. My guests loved them as did I! Not one scallop left! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynLee327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Maine, USA
Living In: Glenburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I usually cook scallops only 2 min. per side and questioned baking them for 15 min. as the recipe said but went ahead with the recipe because of the other reviews. Before I baked them I patted the scallops with paper towels so they were not wet and followed the recipe to the "T". I took them out of the oven after the first 15 min. and found they were stewing in juice. I removed them one by one with tongs and put them in the glaze for only a minute and I found them to be way over cooked. I don't know what they would've been like if I baked them for another 15 to 20 min as the recipe said! We did not care for this recipe and will remove it from "My Recipe Box".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Cook's Tip: Bay scallops can be substituted for sea scallops. If using smaller bay scallops, lower the baking time by about 10 to 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Too much honey flavor came through in the glaze, and not enough of *something* else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe was amazing - followed it to the "T". Everyone loved it. Served it with Vermicelli! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Veryyyyy good flavor!! I cook scallops all the time and I will be using this recipe many more times! I changed the oven temp to 350 since they cook very fast, and you do not want them overcooked. I added another clove of garlic (love it!) and didn't quite add the full amount of Old Bay. Already gave a copy to a friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States