Honey Glazed Pea Pods and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
THis was a great glaze - especially on the carrots. I wasn't crazy about it on the pea pods - but maybe that's just because I prefer carrots. I will keep this recipe and just use carrots next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAmyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This dish was very flavorful and a nice update to the everyday peas and carrots. The sauce was just the right consistency and sweetness. I steamed the vegetables instead. I served this with Bourbon Baked Salmon and rice pilaf. It got rave reviews, so I am making some for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I was disappointed in this recipe. The honey was nice, but the butter tasted overwhelming yet it provided the right texture so I wouldn't lessen it... I usually caramelize carrots with brown sugar, so I think I'm going to stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I love this recipe, thanks so much for posting it Michele. I made it for the first time as a healthy lunch for myself. 2 carrots and 4 large handfuls of sugar snap peas were perfect. I feel so healthy!! I used enough butter to coat the bottom of the saucepan. I didn't find the honey overpowering (I used 2 tablespoons as per recipe) but added some kick with 1 and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder in with the cornflour. I sprinkled celery salt over the dish just before serving as well. This is a great meal on its own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Excellant way to use carrots. The little bit of honey was just perfect to accent the peas and carrots. Will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was great, and beautiful too! I used baby carrots, steamed for about 7-8 minutes, (not boiled), then added the pea pods and only steamed for 45 seconds. This was a perfect amount of time. Then continued with the recipe, leaving out the cornstarch. This went great with garlic salmon and brown/wild rice. My kids (aged 4 and 1) loved this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Very fast and easy! I didn't have pea pods the first time I made this, so just used carrots, and everyone loved it. Have since made it with pea pods too, and that was also delicious and colorful. I'm saving this recipe, however, as my standard "fancy" cooked carrots recipe. Have made it twice for company, and they thought I was "putting on the dog," even though I used large carrots, sliced quickly in the food processor in the morning, and whipped up this simple, colorful side veggie dish in a heartbeat. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I was excited to try this recipe because I like the simplicity of preparation ,quick cook time and healthy cheap ingredients for my family. But I'm honestly sorry to say that the "wow factor" in the flavor just wasn't there for us. I did not use 3 TBL of butter like the recipe stated. I am watching my cholesterol and frankly it only needed 1 TBL anyway. The flavor is very much there and the corn starch had enough butter to dissolve in to anyway. I did add some black pepper, at the end, only because I felt that the flavor was sorta ok but it really lacked something essencial. I served it stir fry style over white rice. My husband was ho~hummed by the flavor and so was I, Hence only a three star rating.However,once I added a splash or two of Soy Sauce over the veggies and rice, the flavor improved the whole dish immediately. I Loved it! Because I tasted the sweet and saltyness of the veggies and truely it tasted it better. But until we doctored it up, it was missing something and tasted kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was delicious. Unlike other recipes, this used ingredients that most people already have lying around in their kitchens. Very simple to make, and yummy. My husband, who doesn't like vegetables, loved them. Kids like the sweetness from the honey. A great way to get them to eat their veggies. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
FANTASTIC! I added just a bit more honey cause I like them really sweet. I did not have any pea pods but will have this again soon w/ the pea pods. My sauce was pretty thick. Just the right consistency, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States