Honey Ginger Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I normally love tender crisp carrots, sweet, plain or with butter...these just didn't wow me. I guess I expected a better flavor from all the reviews. They were just a step above plain steamed carrots. The glaze wasn't a glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
definately make the day before!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It was okay, but I wished there was a bit more flavor pop with these. I added more ginger and still thought these were kinda bland, so I then added orange juice and was okay with these. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My kids ate these carrots which speaks volumes! I thought they were very good and enjoy the flavor. Very nice paired with chicken or fish. They are going to become a regular in our menu at home. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSIECOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
double balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These are tasty. I double or triple the amount of ginger for extra spiciness. Used baby carrots, but they were still hard after 5 minutes of boiling. I had to boil for closer to 8 minutes, and then allowed them to cook with the butter and honey for another 3-4 minutes. The extra cooking time leaves them just soft enough, but still slightly crunchy. I served these with Hawaiian Chicken and Teriyaki rice. They lend themselves well to Asian meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrots, but I loved these! I doubled the carrots (sliced thinly!) and steamed them in the microwave. I heated olive oil and honey (2 Tbspn only) in a skillet, added the carrots and then added almost a heaping teaspoon of freshly ground ginger as well as about 1/4 teaspoon ground and only 1 Tbspn lemon juice. Sauteed, served warm - loved the texture of the carrots (not too crunchy, not too soft) and the very present but not too strong flavor of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I started he recipe exactly as written except for cutting down to 4 servings. I added more ginger still to much honey. I had to cut the honey or wash them or something. I heated up the pan and hit it with white wine. Simmer for a moment of course all the fixing they were not as firm as I like but my husband was able to eat three after the changes. I thought they were ok after changes. I gave a two because the recipe had to have changes after I give 3.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Tried this for Xmas dinner - nice dish, but I overcooked a little as recipe said not to do...otherwise not to sweet not to tart---will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I added fresh ginger to these and it made all the difference in the world. Just a splash of this and a splash of that. I can't stand cooked carrots but these were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States