Honey Ginger Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These carrots were a very tasty side dish. I sliced my carrots rather thin, as some other reviewers suggested. I also added extra ginger, and used a little less butter. They turned out very tender and almost melted in my mouth! Next time I make it, I will add extra carrots, because I ended up throwing away a lot of extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
My husband only eats peas and green beans, so after 6 years I’ve decided we have to branch out. I found this recipe and we both loved it (impressive because I hate carrots). I used baby carrots and just sliced the really thick ones in half. I also let them simmer for about 5 more minutes on the stove and was grateful I did since they were still very crispy but good. Increase ginger to at least 1t. Otherwise they only taste like honey. Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was pretty tasty. I used fresh ginger and also added a splash of orange juice b/c they were lacking the zing I was hoping for, after that they tasted like what I was looking for. Thanks! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These were so good and so simple. I added a large clove of chopped garlic for kicks. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
made these last night. my hubby liked them, and they were easy to prepare. about 7 minutes got the texture just right; firm but not squishy. I think the sauce needed a bit more of something, though not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
As is, I have to give this recipe only 3 stars. Here's how I changed it into a five star recipe: Reduced butter to 3 tbsp. Reduced honey to 1 1/2 tbsp. Reduced lemon juice to 1/2 tsp. Increased ginger to 1/2 tsp. Even with reducing the honey, it's flavor far overshadowed the ginger. Next time I might reduce the honey even further. But a great recipe to build on. Glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very Tasty - Will make over and over again! However, I did cook longer than the recipe calls for. Next time I will use a tad less butter and a tad more ginger. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
These were really good, but I did make a few changes. Halved the lemon juice and doubled the ginger, and I found 5 minutes of boiling the carrots wasn't nearly long enough. I let the carrots cook for 8 minutes in the water, and then another 5 in the pan with the butter. Really easy, I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Pretty good for a change. Needed more ginger though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a great idea. I had to modify it though because I thought I had ginger but didn't so I had to improvise with freshly ground nutmeg. It worked and my three year old who hates carrots ate three and said they tasted good, that's a huge compliment coming from him! I served them with BBQ ribs and my husband thought the flavor of the sweet carrots clashed with the ribs. I'll try them with something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States