Honey Garlic BBQ Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Very good, I omitted the hot sauce, as well as the cornstarch,water and butter. I cooked it very slowly and it became thick and sticky the house smelled sooooo.... good. At supper time all that could be heard was mmmmmm, lips smacking and fingers being licked (not that I approve of finger licking) but who would want to miss a drop. Now this if finger licking good!!! I had guests for supper and everyone wanted the recipe and my daughter who is a Bulls eyes lover said that this is much better I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
BRAVO!!! BRAVO!!! You ought to consider changing the name of this sauce to "The Best Dang Barbeque Sauce Ever". We did cut the garlic in half and omitted the butter as a reviewer suggested. We also added a tsp of onion powder and half a tsp of celery seed. Don't be afraid of the Cajun Spice.. you could add more if you want spiceier...but it was just enough for all to enjoy. I will definitely keep this resicpe and pass it along. I have been searching for a good barbexue sauce and this is DEFINITELY it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I made the sauce though I left out the Cajun seasoning, because I have small children and it would have made it to hot for them, but it still tasted wonderful you could smell it through the whole house. Also following others advice I didn't completely omit the butter, I cut it down to a 1/4 cup and made it a thicker sauce like my husband likes....but it is plenty thick without it. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
The taste of this sauce is very good, but after adding the butter, it turned way too thick and did not want to stick to the chicken on the grill. Great taste, but omit the butter you don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I absolutely LOVED this barbecue sauce! I made a few slight changes: I only used 2 tsp. of garlic; I didn't have any molasses, so I used light corn syrup instead; omitted the Cajun seasoning; used Tabasco Chipotle sauce instead of the hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My wife and I really like this BBQ sauce recipe. It's refreshing to find a recipe that isn't vinegar based, without being too sweet. The one change that I make is to follow another's advice, and leave out the thickening agents (butter and corn starch). By simply simmering the sauce for an extra hour or so, you get the same thickness, and save on extras that you don't need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I have prepared this sauce 5 times and my guests never get tired of it. I have personally tested 37 BBQ sauce recipes. This is the best BBQ sauce recipe out there... hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I added 1/8 cup of fresh chopped cherries, 1 tsp liquid smoke and 2 TBS of onion flakes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
i made this recipe with some drumsticks and chicken wings...sooo delicious!!! I added a tbs of flour to thicken it..and then coated the collection of chicken in a bowl. I saved a 1/4cup for dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m.carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is the first time I ever made home made BBQ sauce. I found it easy to make and the finished product was SOOOOOO good. I did take the advice of another review and omitted the cajun spice. I also left out the butter and found the thickness to be just fine without it. I don't think we will ever purchase store bought BBQ again. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States