Honey Garlic BBQ Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made this acccording to the directions and it came out awsome! I had never used cajun seasoning before - love it. There was enough sauce for two big chickens I brined plus a bit more for the table. The sauce does have a nice little kick to it...so some people may want to go light on the hot sauce and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
My family loved this BBQ sauce! It is better then any store bought sauce and very thick. I did not have Cajun seasoning, but it still turned out great. Don't be apprehensive to do this due to the large of amount of ingredients. It is fairly easy to do, even with 5 hungry kids in the house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j9kapolei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
WOW!!! I had to add so uch stuff to this to get it to taste to our liking. Double the honey,triple the molasses,tonz more garlic,3 TB. liquid smoke,2 1/2 TB. dry mustard,1TB. onion powder,triple brown sugar,1TB. paprika,3/8 C. red wine vinegar,extra pepper to taste. I did not add the hot stuf cuz we are not in training to be fire eaters. Well it taste pretty good now and I am puting it in the slow cooker with pork chops. Don't think we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
super good, lots of zing with this recipe & i didn't have the cajun seasoning, paprika or crushed red pepper. also, didn't find a need for the cornstarch or butter. otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I reduced the garlic and butter by half, left out the soy sauce, b/c of allergies, and used worcestershire sauce instead. I added a dollop of spicy brown mustard and 2 Tablespoons of liquid smoke. I let it simmer for an hour. Not too thick but certainly not thin. I was out of hot sauce so I used cayenne instead. I think that I'd like it with the hot sauce even better. I didn't give it a 5 b/c the amount of garlic would have been too much as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I modified this recipe to the following form and was very happy with the result. -2 cups ketchup -3 bulbs garlic -1 cup water -2 Tbsp Mezzetta California hot sauce -1/4 cup raw dark blue agave nectar -2 Tbsp blackstrap molasses -2 Tbsp brown sugar -1 tsp Worcestershire sauce -1 tsp soy sauce -1 tsp salt -1/2 tsp each of the following (this makes a working cajun seasoning): -oregano -cayenne -garlic powder -paprika -onion powder -black pepper You throw all ingredients in at once and simmer at med low heat for about an hour. The result is suitably thick as is mentioned elsewhere. -butter and cornstarch unnecessary as mentioned elsewhere. -agave nectar is a great sugar substitute. It's sweeter than sugar, but with a lower glycemic index. -I always up the garlic content from what a recipe says. -Don't need to buy Cajun seasoning if you already have a decently stocked spice cabinet. -The specific hot sauce I used is my personal favorite. Lots of flavor depth with just the right kick. It's available in the Portland, OR area @ QFC or New Seasons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopHead
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! My whole family loved it. I used it on Chicken and Ribs. I didn't add the butter or the hot sauce and added a little more honey and brown sugar. It is the best BBQ sauce I have ever tasted and I will never buy BBQ sauce again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wricketts
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow, this was good! I followed others advice and omitted the cornstarch, and only added 2 tbsp butter. Also, added extra brown sugar because I didn't have any molases on hand. This was wonderful. I put it on pork chops, and can't wait to try it on ribs and chicken. My new favorite. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Cooking this sauce, I wasn't impressed at all w/the smell or the taste. I ended up adding another tbl of brown sugar because it was sooooo spicy but there wasn't any hint of sweet. I definately wanted a honey flavor(hence searching out the honey in the title of the recipe) but you couldn't taste it even remotely, Unfortunately, the 1/4c used was all I had so I couldn't play w/that amt. I ended up adding 1/4c of grape jelly to sweeten it up a bit. Anyway, followed the rest to perfection, adding the butter(wow-did make a difference in the taste too!) & the cornstarch mix. Poured it over blsl chicken breasts & baked approx. 25 min @ 375, uncovered. They were AMAZING! The flavor was outstanding! Definately not a bbq sauce I would've ever used had it not had honey & I'm sooo glad I tried it! It was way too spicy for the little kids but my older 2, tweens, loved it as much as hubby & I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is an excelent sauce. I loved it. It is equally as good w/o the cajun seasoning for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States