Honey Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
OH MY GOD! This is so good. I love it. Just remember these hints: As the chicken cooks, it's gonna look like it burned, because the honey carmalizes. Also, don't let them sit around once you'ce coated them. The honey starts to run off of the chicken, so cook them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Excellent! I used 8 boneless, skinless breasts cut in half length-wise. I sprayed a cookie sheet with oil and laid the pieces on there and sprinkled sesame seeds on top. Baked at 350º for 1 hr. The bottom on some appeared a little dark because of the honey carmelizing but they came out perfect. I served with more honey and honey mustard for dipping. Went over very well with the company I served it to. None was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I was skeptical about this when I first read it, because I thought honey burns very quickly, but I decided to try anyways because I'm a big fan of adding sweetness to chicken/meat. However, I sort of wish I would have just stayed skeptical and left it at that lol. It was such a mess to make! Coating raw chicken in honey is harder than you might think. Especially boneless skinless chicken breasts. The honey just isn't very cooperative. Then cooking it. Well...you have to be SUPER careful not to cook it even a minute too long, or it definitely WILL burn. I had 3 pieces that didn't and 2 that did. The ones that didn't burn were still just a strange texture. The flavor really is nice, but carmelized honey is chewy. Not the most pleasant texture for chicken. I think the ingredients DO taste well together, but I don't know, the frying is just probably not the route to take. I may try oven frying it sometime or baking it to see if it works out better that way..If I feel the need to go through the mess of preparing it again! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe was awesome, and I used skinless boneless chicken breasts as some other people did the same thing and it turned out perfect. Just as you said, the honey DID caramelize, and my friend thought I was burning it, but I reassured him that I wasn't. There was hardly any mess (besides my fingers!), as I used a bowl to douse the chicken in honey, and then moved it over to my other bowl with the seasonings and flour. Immediately after that I transferred the chicken to the frying pan, to prevent any problems with dripping (like people have said they had problems with). Just make sure your chicken is DRY before putting the honey and flour mixture on it. The coating stayed on the chicken the whole time while cooking, and I turned it several times while cooking to prevent any burning (yes, honey WILL burn if you keep it on the pan too long, my mom taught me that years ago). I put extra honey on the chicken when it was done, to add a nice gloss as well as a bit more flavor, which was perfect. I didn't offer any dipping sauce, as I also made mashed potatoes & gravy, using the leftover grease for the gravy. I also added a little bit of honey to the gravy, which made it an awesome compliment to the chicken, which was wonderful! I will remember this recipe and definitely make it again someday! Thanks for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I thought this recipe was great-with a few changes. I used chicken tenders, and coated them with honey in a dish along with a beaten egg to help the flour stick. Adding about a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne to the flour, along with the other seasonings, gives this a nice balance of heat to sweet. I deep-fried at 360 degrees for about 4 minutes, and they cooked with out getting too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
I and my husband love it. But watch the amount of oil you use and watch closely. I ended up burning some of the chicken by to much oil and the oil being to hot But when you do it right it is very good. ENJOY added note: If you want less grease bake. I baked it at 375 for a hour it came out real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I think this dish turned out great. The chicken was crispy with a slightly sweet taste. I used boneless, skinless chicken breats and they came out a beautiful dark brown color. However, I could see where those using bone in chicken meat would have trouble with burning. I only fry chicken about once a year, but I will remember this recipe for the next time I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I've made this recipe twice and am very satisfied. It is a good base recipe, one to which could be added "personal flair."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This recipe looks like it would be better than it actually turns out. You've got to totally dry each piece of chicken to get the honey to stick well. When you finally get it into the pan to fry it, the honey burns, giving the appearance of overdone chicken but it's really pinl inside. I had to put the chicken in a casserole dish, cover with foil, and bake to finish cooking all the way through. I may try the recipe again with chicken breast strips. I have a feeling the recipe may yield yummy chicken fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This wasn't the prettiest dish I ever made but it was very good! I cut the flour down to 1 cup, reduced the garlic powder by half and used 5 boneless chic breasts. Very good taste. Like others mentioned, it browns pretty dark thanks to the honey - almost looks like blackened chicken BUT it is moist and didn't taste burned. Slightly sweet but very good! I wouldn't serve this to company but I'd make it again for my family. Thanks SmKat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States