Honey Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe was awesome, and I used skinless boneless chicken breasts as some other people did the same thing and it turned out perfect. Just as you said, the honey DID caramelize, and my friend thought I was burning it, but I reassured him that I wasn't. There was hardly any mess (besides my fingers!), as I used a bowl to douse the chicken in honey, and then moved it over to my other bowl with the seasonings and flour. Immediately after that I transferred the chicken to the frying pan, to prevent any problems with dripping (like people have said they had problems with). Just make sure your chicken is DRY before putting the honey and flour mixture on it. The coating stayed on the chicken the whole time while cooking, and I turned it several times while cooking to prevent any burning (yes, honey WILL burn if you keep it on the pan too long, my mom taught me that years ago). I put extra honey on the chicken when it was done, to add a nice gloss as well as a bit more flavor, which was perfect. I didn't offer any dipping sauce, as I also made mashed potatoes & gravy, using the leftover grease for the gravy. I also added a little bit of honey to the gravy, which made it an awesome compliment to the chicken, which was wonderful! I will remember this recipe and definitely make it again someday! Thanks for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The chicken took forever to cook and the outside was overdone. I had to finish cooking the chicken in the oven which made it turn out soggy. I can see where it would help using boneless chicken or maybe precook the chicken a little before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was a great recipe. I ended up adding a little bread crumbs (maybe 2/3 cup), more Italian seasoning, and a little extra onion and garlic powder. I will also note that I didn't have a packet of chicken bouillon so I used 1 tsp intead and that worked perfectly. Everyone raved about the nice sweet zing that the honey added. Just Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I wasn't to sure about thie recipe when I saw it, but thought what the heck. I should have went with my first instinct! This recipe was the worst I've ever had/tried in my life!! I wouldn't even feed this to my dog! Who ever posted this recipe should be blackballed from the site for good!! DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS ONE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Kind of a unique flavor, the honey adds a slight sugar taste and the onion powder is the next flavor its interesting but worth a try for the different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I was skeptical about this when I first read it, because I thought honey burns very quickly, but I decided to try anyways because I'm a big fan of adding sweetness to chicken/meat. However, I sort of wish I would have just stayed skeptical and left it at that lol. It was such a mess to make! Coating raw chicken in honey is harder than you might think. Especially boneless skinless chicken breasts. The honey just isn't very cooperative. Then cooking it. Well...you have to be SUPER careful not to cook it even a minute too long, or it definitely WILL burn. I had 3 pieces that didn't and 2 that did. The ones that didn't burn were still just a strange texture. The flavor really is nice, but carmelized honey is chewy. Not the most pleasant texture for chicken. I think the ingredients DO taste well together, but I don't know, the frying is just probably not the route to take. I may try oven frying it sometime or baking it to see if it works out better that way..If I feel the need to go through the mess of preparing it again! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
It was ok. I'm not a fan of honey but my husband really liked it. I cooked mine in a skillet over medium high heat and it didn't get too dark like others have mentioned. It was very messy and the coating kept coming off when you moved the chicken or cut it. I think it needed sauce with it but I wasn't sure what to put with it. We may try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Ponce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
my boys loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
The chicken had a good taste, but some of the honey ended up dripping off the chicken, then burning at the bottom of the pan. However, I would make this recipe again just for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluemonday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I have been craving chicken and honey for quite some time now, I found this recipe, and basically I follow the same seasoning for my fried chicken, so I didnt have to alter that, I just dredged the chicken in honey prior to coating it with my seasoning, and it was GREAT. Hubby and daughters loved it! In order to prevent the honey from burning, I constantly turned the chicken, not that hard of a task, just turned the thighs atleast every minute or minute and a half and in about 14 minutes they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States