Honey Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Yum! Actually quite simple to do. I used boneless chicken thighs-- I marinated the chicken in salt and pepper an hour prior to cooking. I did the honey-flour coating just before cooking, and the salty and sweet flavors blended nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe. The only problem was because when the honey cooks it turns brown and looks like it's burning so it is hard to tell when the chicken is done. I did chicken strips instead of chicken breast and ended up overcooking them. Though they were a little dry and crispy, everyone still loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Delicious recipe.. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
For some reason, the chicken seemed pretty bland to me. It was much better when I had the leftovers mixed in risotto. Wont be making it agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The meal was good. The only problem is its a big mess to clean up after the meal. Alot of honey and grease everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
thank you for posting this recipe. Having limited ingrediants to work with (I live in a small village in egypt) I was in a tizzy trying to figure out what to make for thanksgiving, when I came across this recipe I jumped for joy! I wasn't expecting it to taste so good too. I boiled my chicken with garlic and salt before I fried it to make sure that it was completely cooked. An absalute success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
it was just ok.....not to much of a honey flavor and i even let the chicken sit in it for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jancsek Bonk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Pretty yummy, but fairly flavourless and you couldn't REALLY taste the honey.. I found it just added sweetness but not flavour. But a nice honey-mustard sauce made it at least a four star, but on it's own, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I agree with a number of other reviews on here that this was a great idea, not executed well. The flavoring is realy nice, and it does carmelize rather easily. However, the batter/breading on this is very messy and doesn't stay on well at all. I'd still like to find a really good honey fried chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I just loved making these..I do a lot of cooking with my daughter just for the fun of it..interesting and different recipes like this where you get a unique and tasty result tend to be the ones we pick most often. If its challenging for my cooking skills, its even more fun (even if I fail utterly lol) Anyway, I did have some trouble at first because I'm not used to frying with anything covered in honey (despite being warned here lol!)...this is actually what caught my eye was the challenges from coating/deep frying honey. I used frozen boneless chicken breasts that were large so I cut them into three pieces each. My first few got SO dark SO fast that even after being warned by the other reviewers, I was still astonished lol, and the middles weren't cooked yet even. But then I tried a couple things the other people here suggested...for the rest of mine (after the really dark ones I messed up), I only did two at a time and turned them VERY often..I mean almost CONSTANTLY until the outsides were a nice brown color, without worrying about the middles because I decided to finish them all off in the oven. The rest, doing this, turned out wonderfully! Especially when you know you're going to bake the insides anyway so you don't have to worry so much about them getting too dark in the oil before the middles are done. Anyway they were fun and interesting to make..I also didn't have any trouble at all with the honey sliding off before coating because I dried the chicken beforehand l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Markon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

A quick and tasty way to jazz up your chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States