Honey Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was pretty good. Read "Witchywomans's" blog and because she was a bit humorous I decided to check out her reviews...so I saw this. Pretty tasty but always when putting a sugary ingredient as part of a coating your going to end up with a 'burnt looking' product. It may sound a little wierd but I actually (kinda, um...sorta) 'boiled' the fried chicken in the oil (by frying in 300 degree oil) the first 15-20 minutes, remove to paper towels, crank the oil up to 375 and fry 5-7 minutes for the golden crispy finish or til desired crispness. Done right it will not be greasy. Some of us (yes meeeeee!) save oil which is okay when properly strained and closed tight but when I try a new recipe that involves fying I always use good fresh (peanut best) oil. It's the only way to give a fair rating. As far as the ingredients I didn't change a thing...pretty tasty. I thought the addition of the boullion powder is a great flavor enhancer. I agree with one person on here...dry, dry...pat the chicken reaaal dry. The honey doesn't 'slide' off. Next time (if I make this)...I'll add some cayenne pepper to the honey then coat. Ummmm...spiiccccey-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I just got done making this and it is fantastic. In reading the reviews, I did alter slightly by adding dijon mustard into the honey and I used some bread crumbs in the flour mixture with some cayenne. I will be making this recipe on a regular basis from now on...thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I thought that this recipe was really really good! I loved the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
the taste was excellent, but preparation was a bit messy and i don't really like frying my chicken in oil. next time, i'll try baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great coating, and a good change from regular fried chicken, but honey burns easily. Have done it twice, and it takes alot more attention to make sure it's crispy, not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My husband and I liked it, my son loved it. Great honey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This recipe was good, but maybe not what I expected. I used a few extra seasonings on it like a little chili powder but mainly followed the recipe exactly. The end results just weren't as sweet as I thought it would be. At first I thought I didn't like it but then after eating more I realized that it was really good and I keep thinking about it! the chicken is very moist which is really nice and the flavors are subtle but I think next time I may use more chili powder or cayenne or something to play up the sweet and spicy aspect. Overall it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I have made the recipe several times and every time it comes out delicious! One time I overcooked one piece, but it was because I did not cut down the piece to maker it thinner so it would cook quicker(which is what I usually do). I heat up the honey too before dipping the chicken in it, it helps coat it better and retains more honey flavor. If done right the dish is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed everything exactly as written. It did not taste bad but there was nothing excellent about this recipe. I couldn't taste the honey and it was just fried chicken. I have to say that there is nothing special about this recipe and IMHO for the work involved...it is not worth it. You get just as much if you dip fried chicken in honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Great recipe. I'm only giving 4 stars because I amended the recipe by adding onion powder, chicken seasoning, and season salt to the flour mixture instead of salt and pepper. Also, I added dijon mustard to the honey mixture. I fried this briefly to get a nice golden brown crust (15 minute), put the chicken in a baking pan and drizzled it with honey mustard dipping sauce found on this site and baked it for and additional 15-20 minutes. Wonderful, Wonderful fried chicken!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

A quick and tasty way to jazz up your chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States