Honey Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
So after reading a good chunk of the reviews I decided I would cook the chicken firs (drumsticks) So I cooked them at 350 for 45 min then I let them cool to a temp good for eating and rubbed them in the honey mixture and breading coating (I used my own gluten free mixture instead of what the recipe calls for) then fried just quick enough to get a nice brown not burnt look. They were pretty tasty and had a nice krispy coating but I did add more honey garlic after the frying as i like my chicken a tad more saucy :) thats the only reason for 4 stars instead of 5, but a great recipe none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sasha927
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this today and my family and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I used chicken wings separated at the joints, didn't dry each piece, used all-purpose seasoning instead of bouillon granules I didn't have, and it still came out great. That said, I would like some cayenne pepper (and additional seasonings) in my flour mixture for added flavor. This dish is versatile and fairly simple to execute! I'll be trying variations in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was a very delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Not sure if I did something wrong or what, but this just did not turn out. The chicken was soggy and the taste was very off. Not using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuilleann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I wish were a rating less than a whole star. In NYC this fried chicken is advertised as Southern Fried Chicken - must be Southern New Jersey as no cook from the South would ever make such a mistake. Buttermilk, flour, salt, pepper, Crisco - that's all you need for fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The one person that gave this a bad review obviously didn't do something right because I have made this several times and it has found itself in my staple meals collection. The honey seals in all the juices so the chicken is SUPER moist and the outside PERFECTLY crispy. One of my favorite recipes. I am not a chicken fan and this is a must go to recipe for any one in a time crunch who still wants to deliver a great mea,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I saw all the positive comments and thought the chicken would be better than it was. I actually fried some and did a batch in the oven, and both were just ho hum. Could just fry some regular chicken and then dip it in the honey and skip the whole dipping of the chicken in honey before you cook it. It was OK at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
i do not like sweet & savory foods so i did not add the honey but was still great without it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe tasted very good for us and I thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I was disappointed. It almost tasted like flavorless fried chicken - every now and then I'd get a mild taste of honey - but not very often (and I used a lot of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States