Honey Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
While reading the other recipe reviews, I decided that I would try something a little different. I mixed the honey with two beaten eggs and then rolled the chicken in the flour mixture, then again in the egg and flour once again and then allowing it to sit on a cooling rack until I got all chicken covered. I put the chicken in skin side down in the hot oil and lowered the heat, cooking until the poultry reached about 170 degrees. When I took the chicken out, I allowed it to cool some. Everyone in the house raved about the taste. You will need to watch this dish as the sugars in the honey will get dark easier, but I never experienced any burn on the chicken. This was really great and I certainly will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
It was okay. I read the reviews about the honey burning, so I made sure to be constantly turning the chicken, and it looked delicious, but I barely tasted any honey! It's almost like they honey just fried off or something. I might try it again with boneless chicken and see if that changes the outcome, because the idea of this is too yummy to pass up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I tried it and my family loved it, I just have to figure out how to not burn it in a few places!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanibh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe is really good. I also used it to make shrimp....that came out really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was such an excellent recipe!!! I made tonight for dinner and nothing was left, everyone loved it. I will be doing this again for sure! Make sure you have a little bit of honey for dipping, taste out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I loved making this! I am kind of a new cook and this recipe was very easy and super yummy! Instead of a whole chicken I just used a package of thigh fillets. It turned out really delicious. I also used the other suggestion of someone and made some honey mustard for dipping! Let's just say my boyfriend was very impressed with my cooking skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I had never heard of dipping the chicken in honey before the flour... this was amazing! I will definitely be making this again. I did put the honey in a bowl and heated it up for about 10 seconds so it would be more liquid and it worked great. It tastes just like Tyson's Honey Battered Chicken. And it's homemade. Absolutely perfect... oh and just as a tip, Tyson pre-cooks this and then freezes. We may want to try that, so quick food later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Me and my husband loved it! I added italian flavored bread crumbs to the flour to make it a little more crispy. I would also suggest using boneless chicken breast that way you can cut it into small pieces that cook faster making it really hard to burn the outside. Make sure the oil isn't super hot and if it gets too hot while the chicken is cooking just turn the stove off for a couple minutes. I didn't burn a single piece and we plan to use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
tasted like burned chicken to me. I followed the recipe to a "T"...not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was great the only thing that i did differ was i coated one side at a time then placed in flour mixture then placed honey on the other side making sure that all the honey stayed on it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States