Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Thought this recipe was very good. I did use some orange marmalade (couldn't resist) & omitted the orange juice concentrate and ginger simply because I just didn't have any at the time. The results were so tasty I would definitely make it again. Highly recommend! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I am never cooking a duck again! I don't know if it is because I used a frozen duck (thawed first, of course) or what the problem was, but this was tough and gamey. I used a thermometer to ensure I did not overcook the duck as other reviews said to be careful not to overcook. My husband ate his supper (the rest of us had our potatoes and vegetables) but even he said he won't eat the leftovers. A waste of honey and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
What is it expected you do with the leftover PINT and a Half of liquid. And was it really necessary to use a whole jar of honey? It was very wasteful. And that amount of butter was a lot considering how greasy duck is. Was more like boiled duck. Duck tasted ok but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It was very tasty. Everyone loved it in my house, even my 11 and 2 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made a few changes to turn up the flavor but it still turned out a bit bland. However, the saving point was that the duck came out really tender. I used a 6 pound duck and adjusted the recipe accordingly. One thing that I want to mention is that there was too much of the basting mixture. I used the original 4 pound portion and only used 2/3 of the mixture. I put in some ground rosemary and black pepper to spice it up and it definitely added to the flavor. Also, instead of the 3 hours that they said we should bake it for. I only baked it for 2 hours and twenty minutes and that was for a 6 pound duck. The duck came out tender but the skin wasn't crispy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
We made this recipe for Thanksgiving. I was a little apprehensive as it was the first duck I'd ever cooked & I was afraid I'd screw it up, but it turned out so delicious we ended up destroying the carcass to get at every last little bit of duck meat! My only criticism is that the prep took me more like 45 minutes, so I was a little behind in my cooking schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Delicious! I made this for my boyfriend's 29th birthday. I rubbed my duck with ginger on the inside and Chinese five spice and white pepper on the outside, until the bird was very well coated. The glaze did not thicken like I thought it would, but the result turned out delicious and beautiful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Wonderful! Although I think I needed to cook mine a bit longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was fabulous. My 4 kids and husband loved it. The orange flavor was perfect. I made two ducks (2 1/2 lbs each) and added garlic and rosemary. I only cooked them until the internal temp was 165 degrees, which was about 2 hours at 300. I also cooked them for 30 mins at 400 in the beginning. It was very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The duck was really good but came out a little dry because the cooking time was a little too long. I will make the duck this way again but will make sure to cut the cooking time way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States