Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this for my Christmas Eve dinner party. The only "problem" with it was it was SO tender I could not turn it breast up in the last few minutes of cooking. I served it with a raspberry sauce. Everyone loved it!!!! It was the best duck I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Wow, What a great Recipe. I even got a comment from my mother Inlaw, that is was the best duck she has ever tasted. and that says something I was so unsure about cooking duck, I even rosted a chook to have as a stand by. Guess What were having for lunch? Good eating Marie from Down Under
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ausiemaria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensborough, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
very nice duck recipe. completely different from the usual orange glaze. the basil and ginger give it depth and complexity. thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
My friends and I all really enjoyed this recipe. The sauce was a little bit too sweet for the rice we made with it, but it was great on the duck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I have never prepared a duck before this but will continue to use this recipe forever. Even my picky husband ate it! The prep time for this recipe is fairly short but it takes a while in the oven (I think its worth it though). The duck was not greasy and the orange-honey glaze was perfect. This recipe is not kid friendly as they probably wouldn't be interested in the recipe (although I think they'd like the sweet taste). Excellent recipe that I recommend to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
My family loves duck. We hunt them every year. This year we were a little tired of the same old thing and so my dad told me that he had heard of this web site. We were so excited to see that there are so many recipes for duck. I decided that this sounded great so we printed it up and fell in love! It is a delicous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Outstanding recipe! I varied the recipe a bit by adding some ground rosemary and ground ginger inside and out, which always works nicely with oranges. I added water with a bit of orange concentrate on the bottom of the pan to use for basting, the rest of the concentrate I brushed over the duck, then lightly dusted a touch more seasoning on. My husband, 2 year old son and myself devoured the whole thing in one sitting, and if a picky toddler will eat this, then it deserves 10 stars! :) Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
We always fix a duck to go along with the turkey on Thanksgiving Day, and this was by far the best duck we've ever had. I put a wedge of onion in the cavity with the orange, and that was nice. But the cooking time/temperature seemed very off to me. We ended up uncovering it after about 45 minutes, and cooking it at 350. It was done in 3 hours total, but I don't think it would have been if we hadn't turned the temperature up. The back was a lovely, crispy brown, its too bad the breast wasn't that way... but it was wonderfully moist, so I'm not sure I'd roast it breast-up. Really just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was the first time we had ever even eaten duck...(well most of us) it was a wonderful substitute for the over worked turkey that comes around on holidays. I made my own mango chutney which included fresh ginger root and honey vinegar and nutmeg, cloves,cinnamon fresh herbs like basil and some brown sugar and stuffed the inside of (both ducks) with the chutney and orange 1/4's. I made the glaze (suggested here) and it was beautiful!!! I even made an orange mango gravy that was rich in flavor of fresh fruits and herbs. I will definately use this recipe again and again and again...It came out perfectly cooked and tender after two hours and a half (they were 5 lb ducks!). THANK YOU for this amazing new addition to our holiday tradiotion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great recipe! So tender & juices. I stuffed the duck with oranges & squeezed more over the top once done. I also chopped more basil & ginger, and sprinkled salt over the duck the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States