Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my first attempt both at cooking duck and cooking Christmas dinner. As other reviewers suggested, I added some rosemary to the garlic/basil/salt rub. After making the glaze, I used an injector to get some of the flavor throughout the meat. I also cooked in a bag, rather than the roaster. I added more glaze every thirty minutes. The flavor was absolutely amazing, but the duck was tough. After doing some research, I discovered that duck can be served medium rare, unlike chicken. The juices run rosy instead of clear at this stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Just got done eating. It was the first time I cooked duck, it was amazing. The meat was falling off the bone when it came out. It is not something I will do very often because of the high fat content and the time it takes to fix it, but I will definately do it again. The pan seared foie gras snack that came along wasn't bad either. I just deveined it, cut it in to small strips, squeezed some of the left over orange over it, and seared it in a pan with a little canola oil for ~30 second on high heat(just before smoke point). Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very tasty sauce. I like how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelCooks4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used a too small roasting pan and over flowed and made a mess, but the duck was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Excellent! I added more honey and used regular orange juice and just reduced it for about 20 minutes before using it. I also used this glaze on the ham we cooked as well and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was AMAZING! I'll be making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I found this was a great recipe to start from. I made my first duck last night, and it was so tender! The changes I made: I sprinkled the duck inside and out with Chinese 5-spice powder and kosher salt. For the sauce, I used orange juice instead of water, the honey, dried orange peel and 6TB unsalted butter. I also added a bit of Grand Marnier to taste--Mmmm! For a 6lb. duck, I roasted breast side up, covered, 375 for 1/2 hr, then 300 for 20 min/lb. with the last 20 min. uncovered. I took it out of the oven, poured off the grease and let it sit for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Great recipe as is. But my ego is so large I always have to take credit for whatever concoction I do up in my house. I used mango/peach/orange juice, added about 4 tbsp. soya sauce and 2 cloves of garlic to the marinade. I also roasted the "innards", splashed a shot of cognac on them and boiled them in the same juice mentioned above with some onions, celery tops, bayleaves, garlic and ginger for gravy. It was absolutely fabulous. You could use white wine or scotch in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I had never made duck before, so I might have not done it right, but it was kinda tough and the skin never got crispy. The flavor, however was excellent and I will try and make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Krizan Reale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States