Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very Tasty. I love duck, and this was a very good way to prepare it. I was hoping for a crispier skin, however. I prepared this for a friend who had never eaten duck and was curious about the flavor. He enjoyed the taste, and agreed the mild gamey flavor is better complimented (or masked :) ) with a sweet glaze or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I'm a novice, and it was my first time to make ever make any duck recipe. This turned out delicious. Next time however, I will add more honey/OJ, and cook it longer. Otherwise, it was delicious! Made it for New Year's Day and it ws yummy! Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Good duck recipe! My dad and fiance loved it! Good flavor while still retaining the taste of the duck. Great one to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was absolutely DELICIOUS. I thought that basil and ginger together in the same recipe were a weird combination, but decided to follow the recipe to the letter. It was the best duck I have ever eaten. I had stinging nettles as a side dish and the sauce was beautiful on them as well - I imagine spinach would be well complemented as well. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was very good. I used duck and goose all cooked in the same batch and I couldn't taste the difference between either meat. I did however marinate the goose and duck 1 hour in ice cold salt water to remove the blood and game flavor. Next time I'll probably do it in Coke so it is more tender. After that 1 hour was up, I marinated the meat in the ginger root, oj, and honey over night. The next morning I put it all in a crock pot (cause I had cut out the breast and leg meat of each cause I had shot them the day before and it's easier to clean them that way). Let them cook all day cause I wasn't home, turned out wonderful. My aunt and mother had some and they said it reminded them of Christmas - they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen of Trout
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great recipe! So tender & juices. I stuffed the duck with oranges & squeezed more over the top once done. I also chopped more basil & ginger, and sprinkled salt over the duck the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my first attempt both at cooking duck and cooking Christmas dinner. As other reviewers suggested, I added some rosemary to the garlic/basil/salt rub. After making the glaze, I used an injector to get some of the flavor throughout the meat. I also cooked in a bag, rather than the roaster. I added more glaze every thirty minutes. The flavor was absolutely amazing, but the duck was tough. After doing some research, I discovered that duck can be served medium rare, unlike chicken. The juices run rosy instead of clear at this stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Just got done eating. It was the first time I cooked duck, it was amazing. The meat was falling off the bone when it came out. It is not something I will do very often because of the high fat content and the time it takes to fix it, but I will definately do it again. The pan seared foie gras snack that came along wasn't bad either. I just deveined it, cut it in to small strips, squeezed some of the left over orange over it, and seared it in a pan with a little canola oil for ~30 second on high heat(just before smoke point). Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States