Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The duck was really good but came out a little dry because the cooking time was a little too long. I will make the duck this way again but will make sure to cut the cooking time way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very Tasty. I love duck, and this was a very good way to prepare it. I was hoping for a crispier skin, however. I prepared this for a friend who had never eaten duck and was curious about the flavor. He enjoyed the taste, and agreed the mild gamey flavor is better complimented (or masked :) ) with a sweet glaze or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I'm a novice, and it was my first time to make ever make any duck recipe. This turned out delicious. Next time however, I will add more honey/OJ, and cook it longer. Otherwise, it was delicious! Made it for New Year's Day and it ws yummy! Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Good duck recipe! My dad and fiance loved it! Good flavor while still retaining the taste of the duck. Great one to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was absolutely DELICIOUS. I thought that basil and ginger together in the same recipe were a weird combination, but decided to follow the recipe to the letter. It was the best duck I have ever eaten. I had stinging nettles as a side dish and the sauce was beautiful on them as well - I imagine spinach would be well complemented as well. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was very good. I used duck and goose all cooked in the same batch and I couldn't taste the difference between either meat. I did however marinate the goose and duck 1 hour in ice cold salt water to remove the blood and game flavor. Next time I'll probably do it in Coke so it is more tender. After that 1 hour was up, I marinated the meat in the ginger root, oj, and honey over night. The next morning I put it all in a crock pot (cause I had cut out the breast and leg meat of each cause I had shot them the day before and it's easier to clean them that way). Let them cook all day cause I wasn't home, turned out wonderful. My aunt and mother had some and they said it reminded them of Christmas - they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen of Trout
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great recipe! So tender & juices. I stuffed the duck with oranges & squeezed more over the top once done. I also chopped more basil & ginger, and sprinkled salt over the duck the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my first attempt both at cooking duck and cooking Christmas dinner. As other reviewers suggested, I added some rosemary to the garlic/basil/salt rub. After making the glaze, I used an injector to get some of the flavor throughout the meat. I also cooked in a bag, rather than the roaster. I added more glaze every thirty minutes. The flavor was absolutely amazing, but the duck was tough. After doing some research, I discovered that duck can be served medium rare, unlike chicken. The juices run rosy instead of clear at this stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States