Honey Curried Roasted Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I changed this recipe to fit our schedule. I mix the sauce ingredients together and pour them over a chicken, potatoes, carrots and onions in the slow cooker. It makes a really nice dinner for a cold day and it doesn't take much time to prepare. We really enjoy it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is the best chicken ever made. My husband would not stop saying, "Wow! Wow... Wow!" with every bite! I used Gulden's spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard. It gave a nice kick. Besides that, I followed the directions exactly. Most definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was great! I put a mixture of lime juice, crushed garlic, salt and pepper and a couple teaspoons of curry under the skin and inside the chicken. Also put the leftover lime skins in the cavity, which really helps to keep it moist. I used yam, potato, carrot, mushroom, apple, and a bit of asparagus. Tossed the veg in olive oil, salt, and pepper and roasted at 400 degrees in a separate pan as suggested by another reviewer. It was getting late, so I popped the chicken in at 400, not long after the veggies. When the chicken reached about 140 degrees, I took both pans out of the oven. I put some sauce on the veggies, put the chicken on top of the veggies (breast down, but I think I would flip it to breast up next time), and coated everything with the rest of the sauce. I turned the heat down to 350, and cooked the bird and veggies until the chicken reached 180 degrees. I let it sit for 10 minutes and carved it. I was able to serve the veggies right out of the pan I cooked them in. My kids ate every bit of moist, flavorful meat on a 4-pound bird. I put the carcass, leftover veg, and sauce into a pot of water for soup. I'm betting it will be great broth for a Mulligatawny soup. With the 400-degree roasting, both the chicken and veg were perfect, and done in less time than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
It was amazing, the best thing I have ever made.It was so easy to make. It tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I liked this recipe fair enough when made verbatim. My husband however hates it when made with the full amount of Dijon. But when I use a dijon-mayonnaise with a little extra crushed pepper to make up for the loss of spice, neither of us can get enough of it! I prefer to boil the vegetables, spread them out in the bottom of a 9x13 pan, then place chicken tenders on top and spoon the sauce over it all and bake for about twenty minutes. When made with these variations, I would give it a 10 if I could. I have also used it to make a fabulous chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is by far the best whole chicken recipe I've ever tasted. I had to make a couple of adjustments based on what I had on hand. I subbed a small can of apple sauce for the fresh ones and curry paste instead of powder, which I rubbed all over the chicken before pouring the sauce over top. I made this in the crock pot and it turned out excellent. Thank-you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is probably the best recipe I have tried on here. I didn't have any curry so I used turmeric, coriander, and a little extra ginger. This was even better the next day! I absolutely loved this dish and will make it often! This is a great way to use up vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was delicious. To cut down on cooking time, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into large pieces. I also used both white potatoes and sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes worked really nicely with the sauce. I got a lot of compliments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I cooked my chicken in the crockpot all day. Then I put it in the oven with the veggies and sauce for 30 minutes at 350. Yummy! Omitted the apples and mushrooms since I didn't have them on hand. I used only 1/3 c. of honey and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I really liked this recipe. The apple and mushrooms went so well with the sauce. My husband said "Is it Thanksgiving again?" The aroma was so wonderful. I served a dollup of sour cream on the side of the vegis to tame the sweetness. I also left out the step of par boiling. I just roasted the potatos and carrots along with the bird and then added the apple and mushrooms when I applied the sauce. Sooo tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States