Honey Curried Roasted Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I did this in my crockpot with a 5+lb chicken. I cooked it too long but it was still wonderful. I added a little chicken broth but won't next time. I ended up with a chicken stew. The flavor was great I just over cooked it. I can hardly wait to do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Excellent!! Thanks for the great recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and it was outstanding. I also reduced the honey a bit and added some vegetable broth for consistancy. Loved the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Wow! My Mom is not a cook but she made this dish twice while staying with our family after my son was born and this recipe was a keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I doubled the sauce and put half the sauce over a 7 lb chicken in a slow cooker all day and the other half over cut up potatoes, carrots, portobello mushrooms and onions in the refrigerator to marinate all day. I cooked the veggies at 400 for an hour, roasted some asparagus in the last 12 minutes of that and we had a great meal. The chicken was falling off the bone after 8 hours in the slow cooker. Oh, I only used 2 T butter in the doubled sauce recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These flavors are awesome! My changes are as follows: increase oven temperature from 350 degrees to 375 degrees F, drain all but 2 tbsp. of drippings from pan before adding the honey-curry mixture, making a little more sauce to cover all the vegetables, and increasing total cook time (4 lb bird takes 2 hours). Next time, I will flip bird over so the breasts are on top and throw a root vegetable or citrus fruit in the cavity of chicken to moisten the meat. Rave reviews from this household! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe gave me lots of trouble. I am not sure if anyone has noticed, but the amount of cayenne pepper listed in the recipe is not in the ingredient list. I went ahead and added 1/4 tsp. Maybe the red pepper flakes and the cayenne pepper were meant to be one and the same? Anyway, that is just one complaint that I had with this...the other being that it took alot longer to cook than stated. The flavors were very good together, kind of a spicy sweetness. My husband didn't really like it and only ate a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Really did not go over well. Too strong of a curry taste, I'm afraid, for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksSC13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I changed this recipe to fit our schedule. I mix the sauce ingredients together and pour them over a chicken, potatoes, carrots and onions in the slow cooker. It makes a really nice dinner for a cold day and it doesn't take much time to prepare. We really enjoy it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is the best chicken ever made. My husband would not stop saying, "Wow! Wow... Wow!" with every bite! I used Gulden's spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard. It gave a nice kick. Besides that, I followed the directions exactly. Most definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was great! I put a mixture of lime juice, crushed garlic, salt and pepper and a couple teaspoons of curry under the skin and inside the chicken. Also put the leftover lime skins in the cavity, which really helps to keep it moist. I used yam, potato, carrot, mushroom, apple, and a bit of asparagus. Tossed the veg in olive oil, salt, and pepper and roasted at 400 degrees in a separate pan as suggested by another reviewer. It was getting late, so I popped the chicken in at 400, not long after the veggies. When the chicken reached about 140 degrees, I took both pans out of the oven. I put some sauce on the veggies, put the chicken on top of the veggies (breast down, but I think I would flip it to breast up next time), and coated everything with the rest of the sauce. I turned the heat down to 350, and cooked the bird and veggies until the chicken reached 180 degrees. I let it sit for 10 minutes and carved it. I was able to serve the veggies right out of the pan I cooked them in. My kids ate every bit of moist, flavorful meat on a 4-pound bird. I put the carcass, leftover veg, and sauce into a pot of water for soup. I'm betting it will be great broth for a Mulligatawny soup. With the 400-degree roasting, both the chicken and veg were perfect, and done in less time than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States