Honey Curried Roasted Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
*Revised* Note: vegetables should be roasted at 400 degrees, not 350 (no preboiling - it saps flavor and prevents carmelization). Because of the different cooking temperatures, I roast the veggies and chicken separately. (If you only have 1 oven, preroast the veggies first, set them aside, and then cook the chicken. When chicken is done, let it rest under foil, increase the oven temp, and finish roasting veggies. That way, by the time the juices have settled back in the chicken, the veggies are hot and done.) I find that adding a little water to the glaze SIGNIFICANTLY improves the color and texture. Otherwise it will be too thick when cooked. Also, to avoid burning the glaze, pour over chicken 15 minutes before the timer ends instead of 20 min. You'll definitely want to make extra sauce to serve on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I adapted this for a crock pot - I just placed the veggies on bottom, then the chicken on top, and then I poured the sauce on top. It was great - soft and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
The taste of this dish is EXCELLENT, and we don't usually like curry! I was amazed! On the downside, the chicken took much longer to cook than the given time of 1hr 20 min. Our 3.5lb chicken took a bit over 2 hours, at 350! Next time around, I will add the veggies in at the same time as I start cooking the chicken, because they also took a much longer time to "brown" with the glaze (I had to broil for a few minutes). I would still add the glaze in at the last 20 min, to avoid burning. I will also SKIP parboiling the potatoes and carrots, as they never really carmelized by boiling and then roasting. But, the dish was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I doubled the sauce and put half the sauce over a 7 lb chicken in a slow cooker all day and the other half over cut up potatoes, carrots, portobello mushrooms and onions in the refrigerator to marinate all day. I cooked the veggies at 400 for an hour, roasted some asparagus in the last 12 minutes of that and we had a great meal. The chicken was falling off the bone after 8 hours in the slow cooker. Oh, I only used 2 T butter in the doubled sauce recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Had this last night and LOVED it! Very tasty and fairly quick too! Moderate changes: I used cut up chicken pieces, sprinkled with Johnny's seasoning and pepper & bit of Olive oil. Baked the chicken at 400* for 15 mins, turned down to 350* for 30 mins. Meanwhile I cooked the sauce which I doubled, cut back on honey a bit, added more garlic. Microwaved only the carrots & potatoes until tender but still crisp. Dumped all veggies around the chicken as stated, poured on the sauce over all, baked 15 minutes more to carmelize sauce! The chicken cut up cooks quicker than the whole bird. Total time baking was 1 hour. Served with Jasmine rice with the yummy sauce on top! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I doubled the sauce as many have suggested... ran out of Dijon mustard, substituted with spicy Brown Mustard... also added a cup of eggplant chopped and zucchini that was left over from another... DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIRPAG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe was good. I used chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken. I think chicken thighs taste wonderful when done in the oven, better than breast (probably due to the higher fat content). I put the veggies in the microwave (in a covered corning ware with a splash of water) for 8min; this is a good trick! They come out as if they are steamed (much quicker than boiling for 20min and you don't loose all the nutrients in the boiling water). The mushrooms tasted particularly great. The sauce smells great while on the stove. However when everything was done, my husband and I thought it was too sweet, next time I will use 1/2 to 2/3 of the honey. I didn't use apples because I was skeptical, but I could see they would go very well, will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Fantastic! I was a little skeptical at first, as the sauce just seemed...wierd. It was absolutely incredible, though. I made it exactly per the recipe and I will certainly make it again. I'm already scheming up other ways to use the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was delicious-- I was out of dijon mustard, so I had to use spicy brown and it worked great. I also had to sub 1 tsp. of onion powder, and did only 1/4 tsp. of salt. Instead of a whole chicken, I did about 1.5 lbs. of chicken breasts cut into strips. However, I still did the full amount of sauce, poured it over the chicken in a 7x11 glass dish, and baked in a 375 degree oven for just over an hour. Served it with the extra sauce over mashed potatoes and it was perfect. My husband said it was one of his favorite ways I make chicken, and even my 3 year old with a cold (thus lowered appetite) cleared off a big portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was one of the best chicken meals I have ever eaten! Just made it for dinner with friends and everyone loved it. The sauce is absolutely amazing with the combination of flavours. My changes were to put in enough potatoes so that it didn't need rice on the side. Also made it with chicken wings and legs instead of whole bird and even like this it almost needed 2 hours total cooking time. Well worth every minute though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States